Research Guides: Social Work: Home

Key Resources

DSM Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This resource provides full text access to the following DSM titles: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR); DSM-5-TR® Clinical Cases; Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition; DSM-5® Clinical Cases; DSM-5® Handbook of Differential Diagnosis; DSM-5® Handbook on the Cultural Formulation Interview; Guía de consulta de los criterios diagnósticos del DSM-5®; DSM Legacy Editions.

DSM-5 in action
How to use the DSM-5.
Evidence-Based Practice in Clinical Social Work
- This link opens in a new window
Bridge the gap between social work research and clinical practice.
Evidence-Based Practice Resource Center
Provides communities, clinicians, policy-makers and others with the information and tools to incorporate evidence-based practices into their communities or clinical settings

APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database of full-text peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals.
APA PsycBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to 68,000 chapters from over 4,600 scholarly and professional books, including APA-published titles as well as exclusive access to out-of-print classic and historical works. Covers the full spectrum of behavioral and social sciences.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to articles and other research materials in all the fields of psychology
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to hundreds of full-text journals covering topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods

Social Work Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage of social work and human services journals dating back to 1965 dealing with all aspects of the social work field

Social Work Online This link opens in a new window
Multimedia resource that combines compelling documentaries, original training videos and client demonstrations with relevant text.

Key Journals

Families in Society
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of some respected professional journals in North America on social work and related social and human services
Research on Social Work Practice
- This link opens in a new window
Empirical research concerning the assessment methods and outcomes of social work practice
Social Service Review
- This link opens in a new window
Articles with a focus on original research on social welfare policy, organization, and practice
Social Work
- This link opens in a new window
Articles on all aspects of social work and social welfare that yield new insights into established practices
Social Work Research
- This link opens in a new window
Articles focusing on social work and practice-based research, evaluation and research studies contributing to knowledge about social work issues and problems

Depository Library

The Porter Henderson Library is a Congressionally designated depository for US Government Documents.

Ask a Librarian

Need research assistance? One-on-one help is available via the Library’s Virtual Reference Room in Blackboard or phone (325-486-6534) during the following hours:

Monday-Thursday: 9 a.m. – 7 p.m.
Friday: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Saturday: 2 – 6 p.m.
Sunday: 1 – 5 p.m.

You can also contact us via

email or by posting on the Ask a Librarian Discussion Board in Blackboard.
Messages sent outside of normal service hours will be answered the next day the library is open (check Library Hours of Operation for current schedule).

Social Work

Related Guides

Author

Key Resources

Key Journals

Depository Library

Ask a Librarian