Research Guides: Civil Engineering: Reference

Reference Databases

Credo Reference
Provides access to hundreds of reference resources covering every major subject.
Gale eBooks
Contains topic overview pages, subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other reference resources.

Reference eBook Collections

AccessEngineering
An award winning engineering reference platform. Search the latest editions of renowned engineering handbooks such as Perry’s Chemical Engineers’ Handbook, Marks’ Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, and the Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, as well as and hundreds of other expert references.
Knovel Engineering
Includes process and design information, best practice insights, interactive graphs and tables, material and substance properties data, and equations and formulations for Civil, Mechanical, and Transportation Engineering.

Reference Books/eBooks/Journals

Scholarpedia
A peer-reviewed, expert-driven alternative to Wikipedia. Articles are written by scholars in the appropriate field.

Concise Dictionary of Engineering by Ron Hanifan
Publication date: 2014
This essential reference defines the principle and most commonly used terms found in engineering documents and drawings across multiple disciplines and explains them in plain, unambiguous English.
Dictionary of Engineering (2nd edition) by McGraw Hill
Publication date: 2003
This vital reference offers a wealth of essential information in a portable, convenient, quick-find format. Covers such topics as building construction, civil engineering, control systems, design engineering, engineering acoustics, industrial engineering, mechanical engineering, and thermodynamics.
Pocket Illustrated Dictionary of Engineering Terms by Peter Twigg; Roger L. Timings
Publication date: 2001
A comprehensive dictionary of terms for engineering students containing entries covering the areas of engineering science, electrical and electronic engineering, workshop practices and mechanical engineering.

Oversight of Army Corps of Engineers Water Management in the Apalachicola-Chattahoochee-Flint (ACF) and the Alabama-Coosa-Tallapoosa (ACT) River System
Hearing before the Committee on Environment and Public Works, United States Senate, One Hundred Thirteenth Congress, first session, July 22, 2013
The Importance of Enacting a New Water Resources Development Act:
Hearing before the Committee on Environment and Public Works, United States Senate, One Hundred Fourteenth Congress, first session, February 10. 2016.

Electronic Journal of Geotechnical Engineering
Environmental Science & Technology
Geophysical Research Letters
International Journal of Geoengineering Case Histories
Science Watch
A free online journal tracking science trends and progress

ACS Publications
Access the full text of all titles published by the American Chemical Society from 1879 to present. Updated daily.
ASCE Journals Online
Most extensive resource for civil engineering research and application-oriented content.
ASCE Proceedings Online
Provides in-depth coverage of emerging break-through technologies and practices across all disciplines of civil engineering.
Emerald Insight
Access full-text articles from Emerald journals on research related to business management, training, leadership, organizational studies, and more.
GeoScienceWorld
Comprehensive Internet resource for research and communications in the earth sciences, contains journals and selected eBook collections.
SAGE Journals Online
Full-text access to journals in the health sciences, social sciences and humanities, materials sciences and engineering, life and biomedical sciences.
ScienceDirect
Explore scientific, technical, and medical research. Search for peer-reviewed journals, articles, book chapters and open access content.
Wiley Online Library
Full-text access to journal articles in the sciences and social sciences.

Ask a Librarian

Need research assistance? One-on-one help is available via the Library’s Virtual Reference Room in Blackboard or phone (325-486-6534) during the following hours:

Monday-Thursday: 9 a.m. – 7 p.m.
Friday: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Saturday: 2 – 6 p.m.
Sunday: 1 – 5 p.m.

You can also contact us via

email or by posting on the Ask a Librarian Discussion Board in Blackboard.
Messages sent outside of normal service hours will be answered the next day the library is open (check Library Hours of Operation for current schedule).