Research Guides: Civil Engineering: Databases

Databases

Compendex (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window Compendex now includes standards for not only IEEE, but also SMPTE, ASCE, and ASTM.

Engineering Village (Compendex) Training Videos
Engineering Village (Compendex) Tips and Tricks
Engineering Village (Compendex) Get Started Tutorials

Data Observation Network for Earth
Data Observation Network for Earth (DataONE) provides a single search tool of Earth-related datasets that are stored in a variety of data archives. This webpage explains how to use the search tool (called ONEMercury).

ERIC This link opens in a new window
Authoritative database of indexed and full-text educational literature and resources.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 3.4 million bibliographic references and abstracts, in 40 languages, from about 3,500 international journals, as well as other sources.

GeoRef Guide and Search Aids

Groundwater Database (GWDB) Reports
The Texas Water Development Board (TWDB) Groundwater Database (GWDB) contains information on selected water wells, springs, oil/gas tests (that were originally intended to be or were converted to water wells), water levels, and water quality to gain representative information about aquifers in Texas to support water planning from a local to a more regional perspective.

Knovel Engineering This link opens in a new window
Includes process and design information, best practice insights, interactive graphs and tables, material and substance properties data, and equations and formulations for Civil, Mechanical, and Transportation Engineering.

Video Overview for Knovel: An overview of features such as the different search options, result filters, display options, and more.
Equations on Knovel: This webinar from Nov. 4, 2020 covers interactive Equations, how to use and create them within Knovel.

National Environmental Methods Index (NEMI)
NEMI is a searchable database for scientists and managers to find and compare analytical and field methods for all phases of environmental monitoring.

SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to journals in the health sciences, social sciences and humanities, materials sciences and engineering, life and biomedical sciences.

SciConnect
(Department of Energy) Repository of technical reports, papers and research materials produced or funded by the U.S. Department of Energy

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Explore scientific, technical, and medical research. Search for peer-reviewed journals, articles, book chapters and open access content.

TRID, Transportation Research Board
TRID is an integrated database that combines the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to more than one million records of transportation research worldwide.

What are standards, specifications, and codes? Click here to find out more. (From Arizona State University)

ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window
Offers the full text of American Society for Testing Materials (ASTM) standards, technical papers, and books. Search by keyword or standard number.
Compendex (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering literature with over 22 million indexed records from 77 countries across 190 engineering disciplines. It also includes complete sets of active standards from ASCE, ASTM, IEEE, and SMPTE.
Engineering Workbench™ This link opens in a new window
Access limited to a maximum of 5 simultaneous users.
Individual registration is required to access licensed content within this database.
Full text access is limited to the following standards:
ACI 318-19/ACI 318R-19, ASCE-7-22, ASTM E1337, ISO 1103, ISO 3853, SNZ NZS 4297, SNZ NZA 4298.
Knovel Engineering This link opens in a new window
Includes process and design information, best practice insights, interactive graphs and tables, material and substance properties data, and equations and formulations for Civil, Mechanical, and Transportation Engineering.

2018 International Building Code
Fifth printing: Sep 2020

The Dallas Morning News Historical Newspaper (1885-1984) This link opens in a new window
Search or browse the high-resolution, digital facsimiles of daily issues of The Dallas Morning News published between 1885 and 1985.
Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new window
Access major U.S. and international newspapers online to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, or other fields.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
ncludes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles plus thousands of television and radio news transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
Online access to today's newspapers from over 100 countries around the world in over 60 languages in full-color, full-page format.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Access a vast collection of U.S. statutes, case law materials, public records and other legal resources, along with current news articles and business information.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database providing full-text access to scholarly journals, newspapers, books, and reports.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text access to journals, association publications, health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheets, diseases and conditions quick lessons, and continuing education modules.
Dissertations and Theses A&I This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of citations and abstracts to dissertations & theses from around the world from 1743 to the present day.
Dissertations and Theses Open Access This link opens in a new window
Search relevant dissertations and theses quickly and easily, and view the complete text in PDF format free of charge.
Dissertations and Theses - Texas This link opens in a new window
Search the records of electronic theses and dissertations submitted by Texas institutions that are members of the Texas Digital Library.
GPO Monthly Catalog This link opens in a new window
Indexing and citations for all types of U.S. government documents
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles focusing on all aspects of human impact to the environment, including global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Issues and Controversies This link opens in a new window
Provides extensive coverage on more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture, with unbiased analysis and rich related resources.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, this database uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Access a vast collection of U.S. statutes, case law materials, public records and other legal resources, along with current news articles and business information.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Global catalog that indexes collections from 72,000 participating libraries in 170 countries.

Ask a Librarian

Need research assistance? One-on-one help is available via the Library’s Virtual Reference Room in Blackboard or phone (325-486-6534) during the following hours:

Monday-Thursday: 9 a.m. – 7 p.m.
Friday: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Saturday: 2 – 6 p.m.
Sunday: 1 – 5 p.m.

You can also contact us via

email or by posting on the Ask a Librarian Discussion Board in Blackboard.
Messages sent outside of normal service hours will be answered the next day the library is open (check Library Hours of Operation for current schedule).

Civil Engineering

Suggested Keywords

Quick Help

Databases

Ask a Librarian