Skip to Main Content

Civil Engineering

RamCat

Search RamCat for books, journals, DVDs, CDs, videos, maps, government documents, and more.

Engineering Books

For more book titles, print and online, please check RamCat.

Foundation Engineering for Expansive Soils by John D. Nelson; Kuo Chieh Chao; Daniel D. Overton; Erik J. Nelson
Publication Date: 2015
Written by an expert author team with nearly 70 years of combined industry experience, this important work describes proven methods for identifying and analyzing expansive soils and developing foundation designs appropriate for specific locations.
Handbook of Environmental Engineering by Myer Kutz (Editor)
Publication Date: 2018
A comprehensive guide for both fundamentals and real-world applications of environmental engineering, this book covers environmental topics related to soils, water, and air, minimizing pollution created by industrial plants and processes, and managing wastewater, hazardous, solid, and other industrial wastes, as well as vital topics such as porous pavement design, aerosol measurements, noise pollution control, and industrial waste auditing.
Manufacturing engineering handbook by Hwaiyu Geng, editor in chief
2016, 2nd ed
Materials for Construction and Civil Engineering by M. Clara Gonçalves; Fernanda Margarido (Editor)
Minimum Design Loads and Associated Criteria for Buildings and Other Structures by American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE)
Publication Date: 2017
ASCE/SEI 7-16
The Past Half Century of Engineering---And a Look Forward by Steve Olson (Editor); National Academy of Engineering
A Primer on Machine Learning Applications in Civil Engineering by Paresh Chandra Deka
Publication Date: 2020
The aim of this book is to provide a broad overview of the available machine-learning techniques that can be utilized for solving civil engineering problems.

Residential end uses of water. Version 2 by DeOreo, William B., Mayer, Peter W., Dziegielewski, Benedykt, Kiefer, Jack
Sustainable water management and technologies by Daniel H. Chen (Editor)
Volume I, 2016 - Sustainable Water Management
Volume II, 2016 - Sustainable Water Technologies
Urban Drainage by David Butler; Christopher James Digman; Christos Makropoulos; John W. Davies
2018
Wastewater management for irrigation : principles and practices / edited by Megh R. Goyal and Vinod K. Tripathi.
Wastewater Treatment by D. G. Rao (Editor); R. Senthikumar (Editor); J. Anthony Byrne (Editor); S. Feroz (Editor)
2013
Water Engineering by Nazih K. Shammas; Lawrence K. Wang
ISBN: 9781119041900
2015

Foundation Design: Principles and Practices (3rd edition) by Donald P. Coduto; William A. Kitch; Man-Chu Ronald Yeung
Call Number: TA775 .C63 2016
Location: Second Floor Stacks
Teaches readers not only how to understand foundation engineering, but to apply it to real problems. The material in this book places great emphasis on limit state design and includes a new focus on load and resistance factor design in both the structural and geotechnical aspects of the process.
Heads above Water: The Inside Story of the Edwards Aquifer Recovery Implementation Program by Robert L. Gulley; Andrew Sansom (Foreword by)
Call Number: TD224.T4 G85 2015
Location: Second Floor Stacks
This book tells the inside story of the Edwards Aquifer Recovery Implementation Program (EARIP), a federally sponsored process put in place by the Texas legislature. How such a large and fractious group came together to resolve one of the nation’s most intractable and longstanding water problems serves as a case study in consensus building.
The Untold Story of the Lower Colorado River Authority by John Williams; Andrew Sansom (Foreword by)
Location: Second Floor Stacks
Call Number: TC425.C6 W55 2016
Water Policy in Texas by Ronald C. Griffin (Editor)
Location: Second Floor Stacks
Call Number: HD1694.T4 W38 2011

Guide to Research Projects for Engineering Students by Eng Choon Leong; Carmel Lee Hsia Heah; Kenneth Keng Wee Ong
Publication Date: 2015
Specifically designed with engineering and technical science students in mind, this book contains highly practical content; offers guidance on using IT tools; includes pertinent examples of best practices on conducting research and research writing.
Technical Writing : A Practical Guide for Engineers, Scientists, and Nontechnical Professionals by Phillip A. Laplante
2019, 2nd ed
Technical Writing in Engineering Professions by Darla-Jean Weatherford
Call Number: TA158.5 .W43 2016
Second Floor Stacks, 2016
The IEEE Guide to Engineering Communication by David Kmiec; Julia Williams; Bernadette Longo
2017
The Manual of Scientific Style by Harold Rabinowitz (Editor); Suzanne Vogel (Editor)
2009
The MIT Guide to Science and Engineering Communication by James G. Paradis; Muriel L. Zimmerman
2002
The Scientist's Guide to Writing : How to Write More Easily and Effectively Throughout Your Scientific Career by Stephen B. Heard
2016

Other Catalogs

Govinfo.gov
Provides free online access to official United States Federal Government publications
WorldCat
Global catalog that indexes collections from 72,000 participating libraries in 170 countries.

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
The finding tool for electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government.
Google Books
Search the world's most comprehensive index of full-text books.

Ask a Librarian

Need research assistance? One-on-one help is available via the Library’s Virtual Reference Room in Blackboard or phone (325-486-6534) during the following hours:

Monday-Thursday: 9 a.m. – 7 p.m.
Friday: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Saturday: 2 – 6 p.m.
Sunday: 1 – 5 p.m.

You can also contact us via

email or by posting on the Ask a Librarian Discussion Board in Blackboard.
Messages sent outside of normal service hours will be answered the next day the library is open (check Library Hours of Operation for current schedule).