English

In April 2021 the Modern Language Association (MLA) updated the MLA Handbook. New to the ninth edition are hundreds of additional example citations and visuals; expanded guidance on formatting papers, citing sources, quoting and paraphrasing, and avoiding plagiarism; and entirely new sections on inclusive language, annotated bibliographies, and notes.

For more information see What’s New in the Ninth Edition of the MLA Handbook (Spring 2021)

Source: MLA Style Center: https://style.mla.org/

What has changed since MLA 8th edition?   

• Not much! MLA 9th edition is an expansion of the 8th edition with new sections on grammar, writing advice, mindful of inclusive language, expansion endnotes & footnotes, and new guidelines for annotated bibliographies.
• URLs:
• Continue: if a DOI is available it is preferred over a URL or permalink.
• DOIs should now include the http:// and https://
• For general websites, copy and paste from your browser, some will include the www. and some will not. Either is acceptable.
• Full URLs are recommended but optional especially for long URLs that are three or more lines long.
• You can shorten URLs to the general site if it is excessively long.
• Don’t use shortening services such as bit.ly.
• Remember, when getting a URL from a library database where you have to log in and is behind a closed paywall; use the permalink or stable URL provided by the database. Do not copy and paste the browser URL.  
• If an article is issued by season (spring, summer, fall, winter) the first letter is now lower case.
• The appendix includes over 30 pages of citation examples listed by publication format.
• Shortening University Press publisher name. If the publisher includes University Press, abbreviate to UP. Example, Cambridge University Press would be shortened to Cambridge UP.

Source: CSUN University Library (Cal State University, Northridge) https://libguides.csun.edu/research-strategies

Using MLA Format  

Use these helpful links provided by the MLA Style Center.