English

Covers the entire history of British literature from the seventh century to the present, focusing on the writers and the major texts of what are now the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland. Includes biographies of nearly four hundred individual authors and topical essays with detailed analyses of particular themes, movements, genres, and institutions whose impact upon the writing or the reading of literature was significant. -Publisher

Covers American literature, from European discovery to the present in its essays on poets, playwrights, essayists, and novelists. Figures such as Whitman, Melville, Faulkner, Frost, and Morrison are discussed in detail with each examined in the context of his or her times, an assessment of the writer's current reputation, a bibliography of major works, and a list of major critical and biographical works about the writer. -Publisher

Panoramic view of world literature, including excellent coverage of Third World literature not found in other sources. -Publisher

This authoritative guide covers the whole range of critical theory, including the Frankfurt school, cultural materialism, cultural studies, gender studies, film studies, literary theory, hermeneutics, historical materialism, and socio-political critical theory.

Provides an invaluable guide to the wealth of characters created by writers in English.

Introduces students to the history and scope of literary theory, shows how to perform literary analysis, and provides a greater understanding of the historical contexts for different theories.

Draws together entries on all aspects of literature including authors, critics, major works, magazines, genres, schools and movements in these regions from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present day. The Encyclopedia is an invaluable reference resource for those studying Latin American and/or Caribbean literature as well as being of huge interest to those folowing Spanish or Portuguese language courses.

The Historical Dictionary of Latin American Literature and Theater covers Portuguese-speaking Brazil and the 16 Spanish-speaking countries of continental Latin America (Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay, and Venezuela). Entries for authors, ranging from the early colonial period to the present, give succinct biographical data and an account of the author's literary production, with particular attention to their most prominent works and where they belong in literary history.

The purpose of this dictionary and thesaurus of contemporary figurative language and metaphor is to identify all the words and phrases used figuratively and metaphorically in everyday contemporary English and to categorize each word or phrase not only by meaning but also by what cognitive linguists and others have described variously as figure and ground, target and source, physical basis and domain, in order to provide a reference for English as a Second Language (ESL) and English as a Foreign Language (EFL) teachers.

Allusions are often translated literally while their connotative and pragmatic meaning is largely ignored. This frequently leads to culture bumps, in other words, to puzzling or impenetrable wordings. Culture Bumps discusses this problem and how to deal with a culture-specific, source-text allusion in such a way that readers of the target text can understand the function and meaning of the allusive passage.

An authoritative survey of English usage, grammar, and style offers guidance on almost any writing problem imaginable. The guide's entries include examples and quotations that show not only correct and incorrect usage but also the relative effectiveness of different expressions in context.