Research Guides: English: Career Resources

English Majors

A degree in English prepares students for work in several career fields:

Journalism
Editing
Education
Writing

For more information about Angelo State University's Undergraduate and Graduate Programs, visit the Natalie Zan Ryan Department of English and Modern Languages website.

ASU's Career Development office provides detailed information about English Major Careers

Career Resources

Career Guide to Industries
Provides information on available careers by industry, including the nature of the industry, working conditions, employment, occupations in the industry, training and advancement, earnings and benefits, employment outlook. 2010-2011 edition
Career OneStop
From the U.S. Department of Labor, provides a wide variety of information and tools.
Career Outlook
Provides data and information on a variety of topics—including occupations and industries, pay and benefits, and more. These articles are helpful for students, career counselors, jobseekers, and others planning careers.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Excellent resource for researching careers. Includes information about required education and training, job duties, work environment, salary, job outlook, similar occupations, and more.
Texas Workforce Commission
Contains great information for for career exploration, job seekers,and students.
Texas Workforce Commission - Career Exploration and Trends
Broken out of the Texas Workforce Commission site above, tools allow you to explore careers, compare careers and expenses, and match skills with careers.

Career Center Plus™ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Combines everything you need for a successful job search into one easy-to-use online application. First-time users are required to create a personal account.
LearningExpress Library™ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
eLearning solution that provides support to students and professionals for academic skill-building, standardized test prep, career certification test prep and more.
O*Net OnLine This link opens in a new window
Provides broad access to information on skills, abilities, knowledges, work activities, and interests associated with almost 1,000 occupations covering the entire U.S. economy. Job seekers can use the available key features to find out which jobs fit with their interests, skills, and experience; explore growth career profiles using the latest available labor market data; maximize earning potential and job satisfaction.
Vocational & Career Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Designed to meet a wide variety of vocational and technical research needs, this database provides full-text coverage for 337 trade and industry related periodicals.

English Career Information

Careers from the Occupational Outlook Handbook

Provides information about required education, training, credentialing, job duties, work environment, salary range, job outlook, and more.

Careers from the O*Net OnLine

Provides a more detailed summary and an evaluation with a sufficient amount of details to get a more clear picture of the career in deciding if this is for you and how to get there through insight into the career from job tasks to common workforce characteristics.

English

English Majors

Career Resources

English Career Information

Careers from the Occupational Outlook Handbook

Professional Organizations - English