Research Guides: English: Databases

Databases for English, Language, and Literature

Bartleby.com This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the classics of literature, nonfiction, and reference. Includes a tool for finding authoritative quotations and resources for English usage, style, and composition.
Literary Reference Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access full-text information on authors and their works across literary disciplines and time.
Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes centuries of analysis - both scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals in a format that matches the look and feel of the print originals.
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The comprehensive range of authors and their works (including critical and literary analyses) provide researchers with evidence to support their literary responses and thesis statements.
MLA Directory of Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides detailed information on journals and book series that cover literature, literary theory, dramatic arts, folklore, language, linguistics, pedagogy, rhetoric and composition, and the history of printing and publishing.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An essential tool for research in modern languages and literature. Academics and teachers use the bibliography to find and share their work. Students rely on it to lead them to the journals, books, Web sites, and other publications they need to succeed in their research projects.
Play Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes classic and historical plays, along with the works of contemporary playwrights. Play Index covers new editions and translations, and includes descriptive annotations to summarize the plot and indicate musical requirements.
Short Story Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database is an essential resource for readers seeking short stories by author or genre, and for those researching the body of work of a particular literary figure. Locate short stories by title, author, date, keyword or genre.
Twentieth Century American Poetry This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database includes the works of most major twentieth-century American poets representing major movements and schools, including the New School, the Chicago School, the Southern School, the Confessionals, the Beats, and the Black Mountain poets.
Twentieth Century English Poetry This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A poetry collection ranging from 1900 to the present day, including W.B. Yeats, Rudyard Kipling, Thomas Hardy, Wilfred Owen, Thom Gunn, Fleur Adcock, Paul Muldoon, Tony Harrison, Benjamin Zephaniah and Carol Ann Duffy, and the poets in The Faber Poetry Library.

Multidisciplinary Databases for English, Language, & Literature

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database providing full-text access to scholarly journals, newspapers, books, and reports.
Book Review Digest Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to book reviews on a wide range of topics from a variety of sources, including newspapers, review journals and popular magazines.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to hundreds of reference resources covering every major subject.
Essay & General Literature Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database cites records contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works spanning the entire range of the humanities and social sciences.
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers all key fields of the humanities, including art, classical studies, dance, film, journalism, philosophy, religion and more. Content includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and reviews.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources covering 75 disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, sciences and mathematics.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A trusted source of full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world’s leading university presses and scholarly societies. Provides access to digital humanities and social science content from 200+ university presses and scholarly societies around the world.

Suggested Keywords

American literature, children's literature, drama, English literature, essays, etymology, fiction, grammar, literary criticism, literary theory, literature review, manuscripts, poetry

Ask a Librarian

Need research assistance? One-on-one help is available via the Library’s Virtual Reference Room in Blackboard or phone (325-486-6534) during the following hours:

Monday-Thursday: 9 a.m. – 7 p.m.
Friday: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Saturday: 2 – 6 p.m.
Sunday: 1 – 5 p.m.

You can also contact us via

email or by posting on the Ask a Librarian Discussion Board in Blackboard.
Messages sent outside of normal service hours will be answered the next day the library is open (check Library Hours of Operation for current schedule).