Research Guides: Applied Linguistics (TESOL): Databases

Databases

Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to: NYS TESOL, Asian EFL Journal, Journal of ELT Research, International Journal of Applied Linguistics and English Literature, Indonesian EFL Journal, and International Journal of Instruction, and more.
Educational Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles in educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, and educational research.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-Text access to scholarly research and qualitative studies relating to many areas of education from early childhood through higher education.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Authoritative database of indexed and full-text educational literature and resources.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Specialized database for professional educators containing journal articles and educational reports
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Excellent resource for locating scholarly research in the behavioral and social sciences along with many related fields. User friendly tools limit results to document types and specific research methodologies such as qualitative studies.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index of titles from popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database providing full-text access to scholarly journals, newspapers, books, and reports.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers full text and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for journals covering communication, mass media, communication theory, and other closely related fields of study.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources covering more than 60 disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, sciences and mathematics.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literature, folklore, and linguistics
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the full text of eJournals and eBooks in the humanities and social sciences.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive sociology research database that provides a wealth of useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study.

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Delivers more than 68,000 video titles including documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, demonstrations, and raw footage.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web-based digital video delivery service that allows users to view streaming videos on a wide variety of subject areas and disciplines.

Suggested Keywords

Some Keywords to Locate Language Acquisition Resources: applied linguistics, EFL, ESL, language learners, language learning strategies, morphology, psycholinguistics, second and foreign language, sociolinguistics, TESOL

Some Keywords to Identify Qualitative Research: qualitative, action research, cluster sample, constant comparative method, content analysis, discourse analysis, ethnograph, ethnological research, field study, focus group, interview, observational method, and more.

U-Search

Ask a Librarian

Need research assistance? One-on-one help is available via the Library’s Virtual Reference Room in Blackboard or phone (325-486-6534) during the following hours:

Monday-Thursday: 9 a.m. – 7 p.m.
Friday: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Saturday: 2 – 6 p.m.
Sunday: 1 – 5 p.m.

You can also contact us via

email or by posting on the Ask a Librarian Discussion Board in Blackboard.
Messages sent outside of normal service hours will be answered the next day the library is open (check Library Hours of Operation for current schedule).