Research Guides: Applied Linguistics (TESOL): Books

Books

The Education of English Language Learners by Marilyn Shatz (Editor); Louise C. Wilkinson (Editor)
Elt by Christoph Haase; Natalia Orlova
Handbook of Research in Second Language Teaching and Learning by Eli Hinkel (Editor)
Handbook of Research in Second Language Teaching and Learning, Volume II by Eli Hinkel (Editor)
Handbook of Research in Second Language Teaching and Learning. Volume III by Eli Hinkel (Editor)
Principles and Practices for Teaching English as an International Language by Lubna Alsagoff
Promoting Academic Success with English Language Learners by Craig A. Albers; Rebecca S. Martinez
Second Language Acquisition by Gregory D. Keating
Teaching Academic ESL Writing by Eli Hinkel
The Wiley Blackwell Companion to Syntax by Martin Everaert and Henk van Riemsdijk (editors)
Educational Psychology by L.S. Vygotsky
Handbook of Educational Psychology by Eric M. Anderman (Editor); Lyn Corno (Editor)
Provides integrative reviews and critical syntheses of developments in the substantive areas of psychological inquiry in education, functional processes for learning, learner readiness and development, building knowledge and subject matter expertise, and the learning and task environment.

Creating Experiential Learning Opportunities for Language Learners by Melanie Bloom (Editor); Carolyn Gascoigne (Editor)
Location: Second Floor Stacks
Call Number: P118.2 .C74 2017
Introducing Morphology by Rochelle Lieber
Location: Second Floor Stacks
Call Number: P241 .L534 2010
Mind and Context in Adult Second Language Acquisition by Cristina Sanz
Location: Second Floor Stacks
Call Number: P118.2 .M56 2005
Psycholinguistics by Thomas Scovel
Location: Second Floor Stacks
Call Number: P37 .S36 1998
Teaching ESL/EFL Reading and Writing by I. S. P. Nation
Location: Second Floor Stacks
Call Number: PE1128.A2 N345 2009
Encyclopedia of American Education by Harlow G. Unger
Location: Second Floor Stacks
Call Number: LB17 .U54 2001
Library has: v.1-3

Encyclopedia of Research Design by Neil J. Salkind
Qualitative Research by Sharan B. Merriam; Elizabeth J. Tisdell
Qualitative Research in Education by Marilyn Lichtman (Editor)
Location: Second Floor Stacks
Call Number: LB1028 .L436 2010
Research Design and Methods by Kenneth S. Bordens; Bruce Barrington Abbott
Location: Second Floor Stacks
Call Number: BF76.5 .B67 2011

Suggested Keywords

Some Keywords to Locate Language Acquisition Resources: applied linguistics, EFL, ESL, language learners, language learning strategies, morphology, psycholinguistics, second and foreign language, sociolinguistics, TESOL

Some Keywords to Identify Qualitative Research: qualitative, action research, cluster sample, constant comparative method, content analysis, discourse analysis, ethnograph, ethnological research, field study, focus group, interview, observational method, and more.

RamCat

Search RamCat for eBooks, eJournals, DVDs, Government documents, and more.

Other Catalogs

Govinfo.gov This link opens in a new window
Provides free online access to official United States Federal Government publications
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Global catalog that indexes collections from 72,000 participating libraries in 170 countries.

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
The finding tool for electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government.
Google Books
Search the world's most comprehensive index of full-text books.

Ask a Librarian

Need research assistance? One-on-one help is available via the Library’s Virtual Reference Room in Blackboard or phone (325-486-6534) during the following hours:

Monday-Thursday: 9 a.m. – 7 p.m.
Friday: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Saturday: 2 – 6 p.m.
Sunday: 1 – 5 p.m.

You can also contact us via

email or by posting on the Ask a Librarian Discussion Board in Blackboard.
Messages sent outside of normal service hours will be answered the next day the library is open (check Library Hours of Operation for current schedule).