Research Guides: Mathematics: Career Resources

Mathematics Major

A math degree prepares students for employment in many different fields, including as a math teacher, or to advance to graduate school.

Common careers include: Actuarial Scientists, Computer Applications Developers, Economists and Financial Advisors, Industrial Technologists, Lab Researchers, Math Teachers, Military Officers, Statisticians.

For more information about Angelo State University's degree in Mathematics, visit the Department website.

ASU's Career Development website provides detailed information about Mathematics Major Careers.

Mathematics Careers

From the U.S. Bureau of Labor's Occupational Outlook Handbook online, find out about required education, training, credentials, job duties, work environment, salary range, job outlook, and more for each of the careers in the field of mathematics listed below:

From O*Net OnLine, find detailed information about biology-related careers, from detailed job tasks to required education, training, and skills.

Career Centers and Job Sites

Career Cornerstone Center: Mathematics
Find detailed education requirements, salary and employment data, and career planning resources in the field of Mathematics.
Jobs for Mathematicians
Sponsored by the American Mathematical Society, this automated job application system serves all job applicants with advanced degrees in Mathematics, and employers (academic or industrial) searching for mathematicians. The system is free for applicants.
MAA Career Resource Center Job Listing
Browse job announcements to find a job you love that uses your analytical skill sets.
SIAM Career Resources: Careers in the Math Sciences
Use your innovative reasoning to uncover new insights and applications and help solve real world problems. Get the scoop about growing fields, career opportunities, learn about professionals working in the field, and more.
U.S. Intelligence Careers
The NSA is the largest employer of mathematicians in the United States. The greatest challenge is not finding data but wrangling and analyzing the endless amounts of information already available. We need to retrieve, combine and analyze this data to picture current and future events accurately.

Career Resources

Career Guide to Industries
Provides information on available careers by industry, including the nature of the industry, working conditions, employment, occupations in the industry, training and advancement, earnings and benefits, employment outlook. 2010-2011 edition
Career OneStop
From the U.S. Department of Labor, provides a wide variety of information and tools.
Career Outlook
Provides data and information on a variety of topics—including occupations and industries, pay and benefits, and more. These articles are helpful for students, career counselors, jobseekers, and others planning careers.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Excellent resource for researching careers. Includes information about required education and training, job duties, work environment, salary, job outlook, similar occupations, and more.
Texas Workforce Commission
Contains great information for for career exploration, job seekers,and students.
Texas Workforce Commission - Career Exploration and Trends
Broken out of the Texas Workforce Commission site above, tools allow you to explore careers, compare careers and expenses, and match skills with careers.

Career Center Plus™ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Combines everything you need for a successful job search into one easy-to-use online application. First-time users are required to create a personal account.
LearningExpress Library™ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
eLearning solution that provides support to students and professionals for academic skill-building, standardized test prep, career certification test prep and more.
O*Net OnLine This link opens in a new window
Provides broad access to information on skills, abilities, knowledges, work activities, and interests associated with almost 1,000 occupations covering the entire U.S. economy. Job seekers can use the available key features to find out which jobs fit with their interests, skills, and experience; explore growth career profiles using the latest available labor market data; maximize earning potential and job satisfaction.
Vocational & Career Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Designed to meet a wide variety of vocational and technical research needs, this database provides full-text coverage for 337 trade and industry related periodicals.

Professional Organizations

American Mathematical Society (AMS)
Created in 1888 to advance research and connect the diverse global mathematical community through publications, meetings and conferences, MathSciNet, professional services, advocacy, and awareness programs.
American Statistical Association (ASA)
A scientific and educational society founded in 1839 to foster excellence in the use and application of statistics to the biological, physical, social and economic sciences.
Association for Women in Mathematics (AWM)
A non-profit organization dedicated to promoting equal opportunity and the equal treatment of women and girls in the mathematical sciences,
Institute of Mathematical Statistics (IMS)
International professional and scholarly society devoted to the development, dissemination, and application of statistics and probability.
Mathematical Association of America (MAA)
Largest community of mathematicians, students, and enthusiasts. Its mission is to advance the understanding of mathematics and its impact on our world.
National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM)
Founded in 1920, the NCTM is the world's largest mathematics education organization. NCTM advocates for high-quality mathematics teaching and learning for each and every student.
Society for Industrial & Applied Mathematics (SIAM)
SIAM fosters the development of applied mathematical and computational methodologies needed in various application areas. Applied mathematics, in partnership with computational science, is essential in solving many real-world problems.
Society of Actuaries (SOA)
An educational, research, and professional organization dedicated to advancing actuarial knowledge and enhancing the ability of actuaries to provide expert advice and relevant solutions for financial, business, and societal problems involving uncertain future events.