Research Guides: History: News

Newspapers

See also "News Databases" in the Databases Tab.

AAS Historical Periodicals Collection, Series 1-5
Digital collection of American periodicals published between 1691 and 1877 created from serials holdings belonging to the American Antiquarian Society.
African American Newspapers Series 1, 1827-1998
Full-text access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1777-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

Chronicling America is in the process of transitioning to a new interface. Take a look at the new Research Guide on using Chronicling America.

Chronicling America - Interactive Map
This map shows approximate locations of digitized newspapers available in the Chronicling America Historic American Newspapers collection. Explore the newspapers by clicking the dots on the map and access a time slider in the lower left hand corner to interact with the newspaper publishing timeline. Dates on the timeline represent publication dates of currently available digitized content.

Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1980)
Searchable digital archive of Hispanic American Newspapers published between 1808-1980
PressReader
Online access to today's newspapers from over 100 countries around the world in over 60 languages in full-color, full-page format.
The Dallas Morning News Historical Newspaper (1885-1984)
Search or browse the high-resolution, digital facsimiles of daily issues of The Dallas Morning News published between 1885 and 1985.
The Christian Science Monitor Historical Newspaper (1908-2011)
Search or browse the cover-to-cover digital reproductions of The Christian Science Monitor for first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Los Angeles Times Historical Newspaper (1881-1999)
Search or browse the cover-to-cover digital reproductions of the historical Los Angeles Times for first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
The New York Times Historical Newspaper (1851-2019)
Search or browse the cover-to-cover digital reproductions of The New York Times for first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

The Portal to Texas History (UNT)
A gateway to rare, historical, and primary source materials from or about Texas. Provided by the University of North Texas.
University of Texas at Austin's Digitized Collection
An excellent collection of digitized historical newspapers. Search the collection or browse by date issued, authors, titles, or subject/location.

The Wall Street Journal Historical Newspaper (1889-2011)
Search or browse the cover-to-cover digital reproductions of The Wall Street Journal for first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
The Washington Post Historical Newspaper (1877-2006)
Search or browse the cover-to-cover digital reproductions of The Washington Post for first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Blogs

Stories | National Museum of American History
To find out about current and past exhibits at the National Museum of American History, browsing their "Stories" by topic and/or format.
WW1: Experiences of an English Soldier
This blog is made up of transcripts of Harry Lamin's letters from the first World War.

Podcasts

Binge Thinking History Podcast
Covers historical events from many different eras.
China History Podcast
Presented by Laszlo Montgomery.
JAH Podcast
Presents interviews with authors of articles in the Journal of American History.
UCLA Latin American Institute
Latest news from LAI, University of California Los Angeles' community of faculty Latin Americanists in more than thirty disciplines and professional fields in the natural sciences, social sciences, humanities, fine arts, and professions who conduct research and teach on Latin America and its role in the world.
Military History
Covers military events in both U.S. and world history.
Monticello Podcasts
Covers many different aspects of the life of President Thomas Jefferson.
The Origins of the Modern Public
Examines how publics were formed in Europe between 1500 and 1700 and how they grew into the community concept of Public that we hold today.

Suggested Keywords

Use common terms and alternate terms such as: Civil War OR War of the Rebellion

Match a person with an event such as: Eisenhower AND D-Day

Match an era with a location such as: "Urban History" AND "United States"

Narrow down results this way: "Roosevelt" NOT "Teddy"

Ask a Librarian

Need research assistance? One-on-one help is available via the Library’s Virtual Reference Room in Blackboard or phone (325-486-6534) during the following hours:

Monday-Thursday: 9 a.m. – 7 p.m.
Friday: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Saturday: 2 – 6 p.m.
Sunday: 1 – 5 p.m.

You can also contact us via

email or by posting on the Ask a Librarian Discussion Board in Blackboard.
Messages sent outside of normal service hours will be answered the next day the library is open (check Library Hours of Operation for current schedule).