Research Guides: History: Databases

Databases

America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of articles covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present
The American West This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Discover the history of westward expansion, development and the 'wild west' through a wide range of rare and original documents.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples of North America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life.
HeritageQuest Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Delivers an extensive collection of genealogical and primary sources back to the 1700s, including census records, city directories, local and family histories, military records, maps and photos.
Texas Digital Sanborn Maps This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Maps from 1867-1970 of various Texas cities.
World History Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text of articles focusing on world history; includes peer-reviewed journals dating as far back as 1964

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database providing full-text access to scholarly journals, newspapers, books, and reports.
Dissertations and Theses A&I This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of citations and abstracts to dissertations & theses from around the world from 1743 to the present day.
Dissertations and Theses - Texas This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search the records of electronic theses and dissertations submitted by Texas institutions that are members of the Texas Digital Library.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources covering more than 60 disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, sciences and mathematics.

Latin America Network Information Center
Broad variety of resources on various topics in Latin American studies

MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covering virtually every general interest subject area, this database provides full text access to more than 2,300 magazines and journals, 870 reference books, and 73,000 primary source documents.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to journals in the health sciences, social sciences and humanities, materials sciences and engineering, life and biomedical sciences.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States
Texas Reference Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A full-text collection of interdisciplinary books, journal & newspaper articles about Texas history.

The Dallas Morning News Historical Newspaper (1885-1985) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse the high-resolution, digital facsimiles of daily issues of The Dallas Morning News published between 1885 and 1985.
Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1980) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable digital archive of Hispanic American Newspapers published between 1808-1980
Los Angeles Times Historical Newspaper (1881-1999) This link opens in a new window
Search or browse the cover-to-cover digital reproductions of the historical Los Angeles Times for first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
The New York Times Historical Newspaper (1851-2019) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse the cover-to-cover digital reproductions of The New York Times for first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
The Wall Street Journal Historical Newspaper (1889-2011) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse the cover-to-cover digital reproductions of The Wall Street Journal for first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

U-Search - History

Suggested Keywords

Use common terms and alternate terms such as: Civil War OR War of the Rebellion
Match a person with an event such as: Eisenhower AND D-Day
Match an era with a location such as: "Urban History" AND "United States"
Narrow down results this way: "Roosevelt" NOT "Teddy"

Ask a Librarian

Need research assistance? One-on-one help is available via the Library’s Virtual Reference Room in Blackboard or phone (325-486-6534) during the following hours:

Monday-Thursday: 9 a.m. – 7 p.m.
Friday: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Saturday: 2 – 6 p.m.
Sunday: 1 – 5 p.m.

You can also contact us via

email or by posting on the Ask a Librarian Discussion Board in Blackboard.
Messages sent outside of normal service hours will be answered the next day the library is open (check Library Hours of Operation for current schedule).