Social Work

This eBook includes: New and updated treatment plans All treatment plans, interventions strategies, applications, and practice implications are evidence based Instructions on doing diagnostic assessments and differential diagnosis using the DSM-5 Changes to coding and billing using the DSM-5 and ICD-10 The book includes robust tools for students, instructors, and new graduates seeking licensure.

This unique casebook for graduate-level programs in the mental health professions is a masterful vehicle for students to put the new DSM-5 into practice by presenting actual clinical experiences from practitioners. It is distinguished from other casebooks by its presentation of real-life cases along with the rationale behind diagnostic criteria and a connection of DSM-5 criteria with symptomatology for each case. In addition, the detailed vignettes include acomplete discussion of treatment interventions and client management that is crucial for students in helping professions.

Demystifying DSM-5 criteria without sacrificing accuracy, the book includes ICD-10-CM codes for each disorder. More than 130 detailed case vignettes illustrate typical patient presentations; down-to-earth discussions of each case demonstrate how to arrive at the diagnosis and rule out other likely possibilities. The author's website (www.guilford.com/jm) offers additional discussion and resources related to psychiatric diagnosis and DSM-5.

Organized around 32 main presenting problems, from family violence and juvenile delinquency to homelessness, chemical dependence, physical/cognitive disability, sexual abuse, and more. This book features: Treatment plan components for 32 behaviorally based presenting problems, Over 1,000 prewritten treatment goals, objectives, and interventions, a step-by-step guide to writing treatment plans that meet the requirements of most insurance companies and third-party payors.

Fully updated, the second edition of this comprehensive, easy-to-use guide explores the wealth of diverse career opportunities in both traditional and non-traditional counseling settings.

This book adapts the consultation theory and practice framework put forward by June Gallessich (1982) that defines consultation in specific terms and proposes that there are six models of consultation. These models are organizational consultation, program consultation, education and training consultation, mental health consultation, behavioral consultation, and clinical case consultation.

In a rapidly advancing technological culture, social work practitioners are frequently challenged to invent new strategies to meet client needs and foster social change. The chapters in this volume offer insight into the knowledge, skills, and values required of those who practice social work 2.0.

Research on the involvement of men with their children stresses the important role that fathers play from infancy to adolescence. Fatherhood in America bridges the gap between research and practice through chapters authored by some of the country's foremost fatherhood scholars and clinicians by offering fresh perspectives and keen insights borne out of field experience working with fathers.

A thorough exploration of diversity and social justice within the field of social work. This edition aligns with the Council on Social Work Education's 2015 Educational Policy and Standards and incorporates the National Association of Social Workers Standards of Cultural Competence.

This resource for students and practitioners addresses the critical demand for geriatric social workers by illuminating the many rewards, challenges, and opportunities for social workers to provide counseling, care management, and support to older adults. This text illustrates strategies and interventions that move theory into real-world social work settings.

Many people are interested in pursuing a career in mental health but may be uncertain about career options. This book helps to identify the best educational path for their interests and prepare for success.

This book explores the risk and protective factors of rural life and minority status for youth and their families.. Coverage includes recent theories in child development, empirical studies of rural minority populations, and leading-edge interventions for urgent issues.

This text focuses on how abstract social justice concepts and goals concepts can be used as guides for socially just practice. The text integrates diverse and often conflicting approaches to social justice to promote critical thinking and underscore the value of incorporating various perspectives into one's practice.

This book presents developmentally and culturally informed methods for helping children in family, school, and community settings. Includes research-based strategies for working with victims of maltreatment and trauma as well as children affected by poverty, parental substance abuse, bullying, and other adversities. Contains information on working with immigrant and refugee children and gender-nonconforming children.

An invaluable resource for graduate students within social work programs and related disciplines, academics, and health/mental health practitioners currently in the field. This book examines international concerns and content associated with the LGBTQ movement and ongoing needs related to health, mental health, policy and advocacy, among other areas of concern.

Many hospice social workers must address spiritual issues with their clients, but do not feel competent to do so effectively. The book will help readers elevate their spiritual competence and foster a relationship with their clients that will enrich the experience for all involved.

Drawing on diverse research and methodological approaches that include direct family observations, interviews, and narrative analyses, this volume presents cutting-edge conceptual and empirical work on the key developmental tasks and challenges in the transition between adolescence and adulthood.
Location: Second Floor Stacks
Call Number: BF724 .A253 2012

This first-of-its-kind guide features top scholars and educators providing a much-needed introduction to social work writing and scholarship. Foregrounding the process of social work writing, the coeditors particularly emphasize how to think about and approach one's subject in a productive manner.
Location: Second Floor Stacks
Call Number: HV29.7 .C65 2012

This book demonstrates how EBP can be integrated into school social worker’s daily practice, highlighting primary clinical issues, family problems, and school-wide needs faced by school social workers, helps practitioners make the best use of evidence to be flexible, effective advocates at all levels of practice.
Location: Second Floor Stacks
Call Number: LB3013.4 .K44 2008

Serving as an impetus for learning more about the unique struggles and strengths of those in countries around the world, International Social Work Policy and Practice offers intriguing firsthand observations and perspectives on the relevance of social work's leadership role in grappling with the human elements and challenges associated with globalization.
Location: Second Floor Stacks
Call Number: HV40 .I556 2009

Covers a variety of topic areas and leads students through guided experiences and workbook questions, helping them gain a professional identity, integrate theory with practice, and acquire the core competencies needed for social work practice.
Location: Second Floor Stacks
Call Number: HV11.7 .H67 2011

Learn how to define a search question that captures the problem's parameters, develop a search strategy that is transparent and comprehensive, assess the quality and credibility of existing research, and summarize the available research to support EBP in social work. Providing coverage for both quantitative and qualitative synthesis methods, examples illustrate the steps and decisions associated with each approach to research synthesis.

Provides a detailed description of the process of evidence-based practice (EBP), designed to help individual practitioners and their clients make informed decisions. The text features chapters covering clinical expertise, argumentation, avoidance of biases and fallacies, and common organizational and personal obstacles in optimizing quality of services.

This book guides budding researchers along the process of developing an effective workflow, where to go for help, and how to actually complete the project. The book addresses diversity in abilities, interest, discipline, and ways of knowing by focusing not just on the process of conducting any one method in detail, but also on the ways in which someone might choose a research method and conduct it successfully. Finally, it emphasizes accessibility and approachability through real-world examples, key insights, tips, and tricks from active researchers.