Research Guides: Computer Science: Career Resources

Computer Science Major

A computer science major prepares students to work in a variety of technical industries. Students in a computer science major learn teamwork, problem-solving and technical skills. They may design or create software systems, troubleshoot existing programs, use their technical background to design and create new systems, develop mobile apps, design video games, and more.

For more information about Angelo State University's Bachelor of Science (B.S.) in Computer Science, visit the program web page.

Computer Science Careers

From the U.S. Bureau of Labor's Occupational Outlook Handbook online, find out about required education, training, credentials, job duties, work environment, salary range, job outlook, and more for each of the careers in the field of biological sciences listed below:

Career Resources

Career Guide to Industries
Provides information on available careers by industry, including the nature of the industry, working conditions, employment, occupations in the industry, training and advancement, earnings and benefits, employment outlook. 2010-2011 edition
Career OneStop
From the U.S. Department of Labor, provides a wide variety of information and tools.
Career Outlook
Provides data and information on a variety of topics—including occupations and industries, pay and benefits, and more. These articles are helpful for students, career counselors, jobseekers, and others planning careers.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Excellent resource for researching careers. Includes information about required education and training, job duties, work environment, salary, job outlook, similar occupations, and more.
Texas Workforce Commission
Contains great information for for career exploration, job seekers,and students.
Texas Workforce Commission - Career Exploration and Trends
Broken out of the Texas Workforce Commission site above, tools allow you to explore careers, compare careers and expenses, and match skills with careers.

Career Center Plus™ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Combines everything you need for a successful job search into one easy-to-use online application. First-time users are required to create a personal account.
LearningExpress Library™ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
eLearning solution that provides support to students and professionals for academic skill-building, standardized test prep, career certification test prep and more.
O*Net OnLine This link opens in a new window
Provides broad access to information on skills, abilities, knowledges, work activities, and interests associated with almost 1,000 occupations covering the entire U.S. economy. Job seekers can use the available key features to find out which jobs fit with their interests, skills, and experience; explore growth career profiles using the latest available labor market data; maximize earning potential and job satisfaction.
Vocational & Career Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text coverage for trade and industry-related periodicals designed to meet a wide variety of vocational and technical research needs.

Professional Organizations

American Society for Information Science and Technology (ASIS&T)
Leads the search for new and better theories, techniques, and technologies to improve access to information. Members share a common interest in improving the ways society stores, retrieves, analyzes, manages, archives and disseminates information.
Association for Computing Machinery
ACM, the world's largest educational and scientific computing society, delivers resources that advance computing as a science and a profession.
Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence
AAAI (formerly the American Association for Artificial Intelligence) is a nonprofit scientific society devoted to advancing the scientific understanding of the mechanisms underlying thought and intelligent behavior and their embodiment in machines.
Association for Women in Computing
AWC is dedicated to promoting the advancement of women in the computing professions. Its members include many types of computer professionals, such as programmers, system analysts, operators, technical writers, Internet specialists, trainers and consultants.
BDPA
International organization with a diverse membership of professionals and students at all levels in the fields of information technology, computer science and related S.T.E.M fields. Members are actively engaged in serving the community through outreach and charting the future of the IT industry.
Computer Professionals for Social Responsibility
CPSR is a global organization promoting the responsible use of computer technology. Originally founded by U.S. computer scientists, CPSR now has members in 26 countries on six continents.
Computing Technology Industry Association
CompTIA is a leading voice and advocate for the $5 trillion global information technology ecosystem; and the estimated 75 million industry and tech professionals who design, implement, manage and safeguard the technology that powers the world’s economy.
IEEE Computer Society
Connecting members worldwide, the Society empowers the people who advance technology by delivering tools for individuals at all stages of their professional careers.
Network and Systems Professionals Association
NaSPA assists its members in finding employment, education, and opportunities worldwide in the fields of computer networks and systems.
Usenix - Advanced Computing Systems Association
Nonprofit organization dedicated to supporting the advanced computing systems communities and furthering the reach of innovative research.