Native American History

Information from the official history museum of the State of Texas.

Information formerly from the Texas State Library and Archives Commission. (Archived at the Internet Archive and may take a while to load.)

Supports a clickable map of Texas locations of importance to State Native American history.

Scroll to see links for Collections such as the Nacogdoches Archives and the Texas Indian Papers.

From the University of Texas at Austin's "Texas Beyond History"

Award-winning magazine of the Smithsonian's National Museum of the American Indian.

The Census Bureau collects data for the AIAN population and publishes specific counts, estimates, and statistics.

Indian Country Today is an independent nonprofit, multimedia news enterprise, covering the Indigenous world, including American Indians and Alaska Natives.

The Indian Health Service, an agency within the Department of Health and Human Services, is responsible for providing federal health services to American Indians and Alaska Natives.

The Indigenous Digital Archive allows you to explore the history of US government Indian boarding schools in the 19th and 20th centuries.

Founded in 1944, the National Congress of American Indians (NCAI) is the oldest and largest, representative American Indian and Alaska Native organization attempting to serve serve as a forum for unified policy development among tribal governments.

The NMAI cares for one of the world's most expansive collections of Native artifacts covering the entire Western Hemisphere, from the Arctic Circle to Tierra del Fuego.. The NMAI has a commitment to bringing Native voices to what the museum writes and presents.

Delivers current news and thought-provoking journalism while bringing people closer together by broadening perspectives of Native American peoples, marginalized by traditional stereotypical images.

The Native Arts and Cultures Foundation (NACF) is a Native-led, nonprofit organization dedicated exclusively to the perpetuation of American Indian, Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian arts and cultures nationwide

Native Land is a digital app to help map Indigenous territories, treaties, and languages.

Information regarding native languages from a small non-profit organization dedicated to the survival of Native American languages.

The Bureau of Indian Affairs' mission is to enhance the quality of life, to promote economic opportunity, and to carry out the responsibility to protect and improve the trust assets of American Indians, Indian tribes and Alaska Natives.

The late We:wa was a Zuni third gender mediator, leader and artist.

The Library launches its online educator guide to accompany Harjo’s ‘Living Nations, Living Words’ with a conversation premiering on YouTube between Harjo, the first Native American U.S. Poet Laureate and Haaland, the first Native American cabinet secretary.

View beautifully crafted cultural items produced by Native Americans at the National Museum of the American Indian web site.

According to the Texas State Handbook, "The range of time covered by the pictographs is fairly long, extending from the dim prehistoric to the early historic period."

Luther shares his experiences writing a personal story, directing his first feature film during the pandemic and the importance of Native representation.

Information and Statistics from the U.S. Census.

The American Indian Library Association invites you to read Indigenous authors for their “Read Native 2021” challenge! Here are some books in the Pima County Public Library's catalog that intersect with a few of the challenge’s diverse categories. And then check to see what the Tom Green Public Library has!

Native people have lived in the Big Bend region of Texas for thousands of years. Who should claim their remains?

The National Archives holds hundreds of thousands of U.S. Government records relating to Native Americans, from as early as 1774 through the mid-1990s. These include every treaty signed with Native Americans, records from the Indian Schools, Indian Census Rolls, and Bureau of Indian Affairs records.

Great information you may not know about the overlooked Native American cultures in our society.

A great list of links and resources about this topic. The video goes beyond the national celebration of our traditional holiday to give a Native American perspective.