Native American History

Publication date: 2014
A comprehensive resource of Native American history and culture. The story of the North American Indian is told through maps, photos, art, and archival cartography. Organized by region, this encyclopedic reference details Indian tribes in the areas of beliefs, sustenance, shelter, alliances and animosities, key historical events, and more.

Publication date: 2018
This title covers important historical documents from influential figures in Native American history. Readers will find in-depth analysis of a broad range of historical documents, including speeches, letters, legislation, court cases, and other sources about Native Americans.

Publication date: 2018The Indian Removal Act transformed the Native North American continent and precipitated the development of a national identity based on a narrative of vanishing American Indians. This volume is a probing look into a chapter in American history that, while difficult, cannot be ignored.

Publication date: 1996
Features many Native American contributors - including eminent writers, tribal elders, scholars, and activists - with voices as distinct as their subjects, offering a deeper and more informed appreciation of American Indian life, past and present.

Publication date: 2015
Provides a comprehensive overview of the dramatic process by which American Indians have adapted and thrived, maintaining much of their cultures, languages, and identities, through profiles of key individuals, organizations, government policies, and events that have defined Native history since 1900.

Publication date: 2007
Until the last two centuries, the human landscapes of the Great Plains were shaped solely by Native Americans, and since then the region has continued to be defined by the enduring presence of its Indigenous peoples. This encyclopedia offers a sweeping overview of this story, across time and space.

Publication date: 2018
This book examines the treaties that promised self-government, financial assistance, cultural protections, and land to hundreds of North American tribes. Includes primary source documents and essays on treaty-making and the Native American perspective.

Publication date: 2013
With more than 900 signed entries providing a compilation of specific ethnic groups and their histories, this encyclopedia covers the full spectrum of issues flowing from the increasingly multicultural canvas that is America today.

Publication date: 2016
From ancient rock drawings to todays urban living, the reference work traces the rich heritage of indigenous people. It is a fascinating mix of biography, pre-contact and post-contact history, current events, Tribal Nations histories, enlightening insights on environmental and land issues, arts, treaties, languages, education, movements, and more.

In this authoritative and comprehensive resource, you'll find over 300 entries covering major tribes, languages, prominent individuals, and important historical events; including more than 100 illustrations, such as period photos, line drawings, and portraits.

The Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life, Second Edition, contains over 500 articles exploring the ways of life of peoples of the world. This encyclopedia focuses on the traditions, living conditions, and personalities of many of the world's culture groups.