Research Guides: Research Methods in Nursing: Recommended Databases

Searching ASU Databases

Searching ASU Databases
Short video tutorials showing how to search for, evaluate, and ethically use information found in databases.

Nursing Databases

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text access to journals, association publications, health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheets, diseases and conditions quick lessons, and continuing education modules.

Tutorials

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including the full-text Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.

YouTube Tutorial

MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, this database uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing.

YouTube Tutorial

PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
Comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.

PubMed: Help

PubMed: YouTube Tutorials

PICO Search Form: Search PubMed/Medline via PICO with Spell Checker

APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to articles and other research materials in all the fields of psychology

APA PsychNET YouTube Tutorials (look for the search icon and type PsycINFO to locate relevant tutorials).

Access the rest of ASU's Heath Sciences Databases

Ask a Librarian

Need research assistance? One-on-one help is available via the Library’s Virtual Reference Room in Blackboard or phone (325-486-6534) during the following hours:

Monday-Thursday: 9 a.m. – 7 p.m.
Friday: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Saturday: 2 – 6 p.m.
Sunday: 1 – 5 p.m.

You can also contact us via

email or by posting on the Ask a Librarian Discussion Board in Blackboard.
Messages sent outside of normal service hours will be answered the next day the library is open (check Library Hours of Operation for current schedule).