Skip to main content

Research Methods in Nursing

"In the middle of the 20th century, few nurses were qualified to conduct research, and the phrase “nursing science” had not been framed yet."

Ketefian, S., & Manojlovich, M. (2020). Why do we need Tools in Nursing Research? Pacific Rim International Journal of Nursing Research, 24(1), 1–4.

Nursing research has come along way in the past century. As you navigate coursework to meet your career goals, you will be required to conduct research. Even though the Internet is a familiar method of searching, it is not the way to find acceptable resources for your assignments. This guide is designed to help you with your research, especially in Nursing Databases.

While it may be unfamiliar at first, don't be intimidated by searching these databases; your librarians are here to help you.

See below for a brief explanation of the pages in this guide.

Research Design & Methodology

Find definitions and explanations for different research designs and methodologies applicable to Nursing and other Health Science professions.

Types of Studies

Provides information about different types of studies, reports, and trials. Also lists databases where these resources can be found with tips on how to search each database for a specific type of resource, such as systematic reviews, randomized controlled trials, and much more.

Evidence Based Practice

Find information about Evidence Based Practice (EBP), a list of recommended Nursing databases for locating information sources that follow EBP, and links to EBP guidelines.

PICO & MeSH Searching

Guidelines for building PICO (Patient/Population, Intervention/Indicator, Compare/Control, Outcome) searches in Nursing Databases.

Guidelines for Subject/Thesaurus searching in Nursing Databases using Medical Subject Headings (MeSH).

Recommended Databases

Links to recommended nursing databases, "Quick Help" library research tutorials, and database specific tutorials.

Evaluating Sources

Methods for evaluating information sources to help in selection of authoritative sources that best match your information need.

Off Campus Access to Databases

How to access databases from off campus and troubleshooting guidelines should you encounter any problems with access.

Citation Styles

List of reputable websites to help you interpret the citation style guide used for your classes.

Depository Library

Depository library logo   The Porter Henderson Library is a Congressionally designated depository for US Government Documents.

Ask a Librarian

Library staff is currently providing research assistance remotely via email during the following hours of operation:

  • Mon-Thur: 9.a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Fri: 9 a.m. - 4 p.m.
  • Sun: 1 - 5 p.m.

Please use the email below to submit your research questions.

EmailEmail: reference@angelo.edu