Research Guides: Physical Therapy: Databases

Core PT Databases

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text access to journals, association publications, health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheets and quick lesson disease overviews, and continuing education modules.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including the full-text Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.
Gale OneFile: Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine This link opens in a new window
Access academic journals and magazines covering the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine.
MEDLINE (via EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, this database uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing.
Oregon PDF in Health and Performance This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Graduate dissertations and theses in areas related to health and performance
Rehabilitation & Sports Medicine Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Designed for rehabilitation clinicians in a hospital setting, this reference database provides indexing and full-text for hundreds of sports medicine and rehabilitation journals.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Premier source of literature for sports and sports medicine studies, providing extensive coverage in the areas of fitness, health and sport studies.

Open Access PT Databases

OTSeeker
- This link opens in a new window
Contains abstracts of systematic reviews and randomized controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy intervention.
Physiotherapy Evidence Database (PEDro)
- This link opens in a new window
Free database of 50,000 trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines evaluating physiotherapy interventions.
REHABDATA
- This link opens in a new window
Produced by the National Rehabilitation Information Center, is the leading literature database on disability and rehabilitation.

Health Sciences Databases

Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the full-text of nursing and allied health journals and other health information sources.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text consumer health magazines and reference books. It also includes searchable full text for current health pamphlets. Topics covered include fitness, nutrition, diabetes, aging, women's health, children's health and more.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 500 scholarly journals focusing on nursing, allied health fields, and many medical disciplines.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
Comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Stat!Ref This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Healthcare e-resource enabling users to cross-search over 600 full-text titles, journals, and evidence-based point-of-care authoritative resources in over 50 healthcare disciplines.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database providing full-text access to scholarly journals, newspapers, books, and reports.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to hundreds of reference resources covering every major subject.
Dissertations and Theses A&I This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of citations and abstracts to dissertations & theses from around the world from 1743 to the present day.
Dissertations and Theses Open Access This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search relevant dissertations and theses quickly and easily, and view the complete text in PDF format free of charge.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to journal articles in the sciences and social sciences.
Wiley Open Access This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Peer reviewed open access journals across the biological, chemical and health sciences.

Suggested Keywords

anatomy, assistive technology, electrotherapy, exercise, hydrotherapy, massage, motor ability, musculoskeletal system, phototherapy, physiatrics, physical therapy, physiology, physiotherapy, radiotherapy, rehabilitation, thermotherapy

U-Search - Health Sciences

Ask a Librarian

Need research assistance? One-on-one help is available via the Library’s Virtual Reference Room in Blackboard or phone (325-486-6534) during the following hours:

Monday-Thursday: 9 a.m. – 7 p.m.
Friday: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Saturday: 2 – 6 p.m.
Sunday: 1 – 5 p.m.

You can also contact us via

email or by posting on the Ask a Librarian Discussion Board in Blackboard.
Messages sent outside of normal service hours will be answered the next day the library is open (check Library Hours of Operation for current schedule).