Signature Course: Thriving as a New College Student

Get the inside story on life as a college freshman. Students share their first-year experience and reflect on how it changed them.

A project of the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, this site offers resources and tools for all aspects of educational planning.

Find financial aid information, acceptance rates, demographics, and any other hard data relating to universities and colleges.

Article listing tips on how to conquer your college freshman fears.

Enhances first-year students' experience at Angelo State through academic support, peer mentoring, learning communities and signature first-year seminars.

This guide lists a plethora of credible resources in time management, note-taking, study skills, and stress management

Academic advising is essential in navigating the degree process. Talking to your academic advisor can provide answers to questions about your major, career or coursework. Academic advisors ensure that you are taking courses that will allow you to progress toward graduation.

This article is all about the things you need to do to not only survive your first year of college, but to thrive in college.

Find and join one of the several religion or faith-based student organization at Angelo State and enhance your spiritual wellness.

Lists primary sacred times for world religions, This website is intended to promote understanding between world religions and the upbuilding of the human experience.

Access to research reports, center profiles, newsfeeds, and bibliographies for many religious traditions to learn more about the realities of religious diversity in America.

This multi-faith and inter-spiritual website provides a plethora of resources to help map out and follow your own spiritual journey.

Here you will find materials exploring the practical application of spiritual principles.

Online database of prayers representing all life affirming faiths and spiritual practices.

User-friendly site, created to provide clear, easy, concise meditation instructions to people everywhere.

The world's largest organization of food and nutrition professionals committed to improving the nation's health and advancing the profession of dietetics through research, education and advocacy.

Offers guidance for developing an exercise routine that will help you get in shape and stay healthy.

Find nutrition and physical activity information to improve and maintain your physical well-being. From the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

A multi-campus women's health institute committed to promoting the well-being of women through research, education and clinical outreach.

Six strategies providing evidence-based tips for living well and improving your physical health.

Get in a workout at the Ben Kelly Center for Human Performance, take a fitness class, climb the rock wall, or gather a team and play in one of our many intramural leagues.

Use this collection of fee resources to learn about Positive Psychology, the scientific study of the strengths that enable individuals and communities to thrive

Strategies and tips for good mental health

Provides short-term therapy to ASU students suffering from depression, anxiety, adjustment issues, relationship problems, academic concerns and other emotional issues.

By the American Psychological Association, this resource features articles explaining the steps to take to stay emotionally balanced.

Learn the necessary skills to manage your emotional well-being.

Six strategies to successfully handle life’s stresses and adapt to change and difficult times.

Meditation has many benefits. It reduces stress, increases calm and focus, and promotes greater physical and emotional well-being.

Anonymous, confidential, online resource center, where college students can be comfortable searching for the information they need and want regarding emotional health.

A collection of pamphlets written for college students with practical tips on a wide variety of mental health and wellness topics such as anxiety, depression, eating disorders, sexual orientation, etc.

Improving lives, strengthening communities, and fostering civic engagement through service and volunteering.

Offers career exploration assistance, listings of part-time jobs and internships, and job search resources at no charge to Angelo State undergraduate and graduate students as well as alumni.

Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor, this web site provides information, resources, and advice about careers, as well as job listings.

Career planning resources developed by Career Services, Division of Student Affairs, Texas State University

Coordinates study abroad programs that enrich students' college experience by exposing them to new cultures and customs.

Find out about upcoming and ongoing volunteering opportunities at Goodfellow Air Force Base and in the San Angelo area.

Service opportunity for motivated volunteers to immerse themselves in a community abroad, working side by side with local leaders to tackle the most pressing challenges of our generation.

Find the best volunteer opportunities near San Angelo.

Internships and job opportunities with the Federal Government for high school and college students, and recent graduates.

Angelo State University has partnered with Howard College in San Angelo to offer continuing education, workforce training and lifelong learning opportunities to the residents of the Concho Valley.

Learn to imagine, think critically, discuss, and create via the studio programs and digital resources developed by the San Angelo Museum of Fine Arts.

Freely downloadable audio lessons in 48 languages, including Spanish, French, English, Mandarin, Italian, Russian and more.

From Solitaire and Bridge to Mahjong and Daily Crossword Puzzles, play online puzzles & games for free.

Play your favorite puzzles and games online for free (crossword puzzles, Sudoku, Scrabble, chess are just a few examples).

Benefits of reading: mental stimulation, stress reduction, knowledge, vocabulary expansion, memory improvement, critical thinking skills, improved focus and concentration, better writing skills. Find your next stimulating read via the library's search tools.

Follow these eight time management tips and strategies to ensure that you meet deadlines, are well prepared for exams, and have time for yourself while pursuing a college degree

Learn about and attend great concerts, art exhibits, and theater productions created, arranged, performed, and managed by Angelo State University students and faculty.

Find out about the work performed by the CEH to protect children and families from toxic chemicals in homes, workplaces, schools, and neighborhoods across the nation.

Provides green action information to anyone interested in finding ways to ensure a healthy and sustainable environment.

A mix of targeted media content and recycling data teaches how to live a more sustainable lifestyle and improve the environment.

Strives to effect policy change with hard-hitting, well-reasoned policy analysis and advocacy campaigns that describe what needs to be done, rather than what is seen as politically feasible or politically correct.

Provides grants and education programs that advance agricultural innovation and promotes profitability; stewardship of the land, air, water; and quality of life for farmers, ranchers, and their communities.

Empowering Texans to fight pollution through sustained grassroots organizing campaigns that shift corporate and governmental policy.

Dedicated to ensuring America's energy future, scientific & technological leadership, nuclear security, and to resolve the environmental legacy of the cold war.

Follow these seven guidelines to cultivate your habits of social wellness.

Offers students the opportunity to expand their education outside the classroom. From leadership opportunities, to event programming, and community services opportunities, they have something for everyone.

This article explores how to make friends with intention.

Tips on how to meet people, start a conversation, and cultivate healthy connections that will improve your life and well-being.

Hosts a variety of events every year to promote awareness and understanding of different cultures, people, ideas and perspectives.

Six strategies providing evidence-based tips for living well and improving your social wellness.

Tips on how to build a strong social network.

Brings more than 50 events and programs to campus each year, all led by students.

Designed to help students understand their expenses and income while attending a university, college or other full-time educational institution.

Free online budgeting and money management tool specifically for college students.

Find out about, apply for, and learn how to manage grant, work-study, and loan funds made available by the federal government to students attending college or career school.

Series of presentations on topics that are important to today's college students, such as financial wellness, understanding financial aid, and how to establish good credit.

Provides a wealth of information for college students on paying for college and repaying student loans.

Resources about financial aid availability, tuition discounts, tax breaks and other ways to trim college costs.

Tips, tools, and articles on the best ways to pay for college, including scholarships, savings, grants, loans, and more.

Use these free student resources and handouts to keep track of important deadlines, get expert tips, and search over 3.7 million scholarships and grants to help pay for college.