Research Guides: Climate Research: Meteorology

Guides & Handbooks

Basic Spotters' Field Guide by National Weather Service
This guide has been compiled for use by trained spotters in the field (both fixed and mobile spotters) and communication specialists who receive and relay the reports.
Advanced Spotters' Field Guide by National Weather Service
Publication date: 2009
The National Weather Service (NWS) has a number of devices for detecting severe thunderstorms. Included in these are radar, satellite, and lightning detection networks. However, the most important tool for observing thunderstorms is the trained eye of the storm spotter.

Websites

American Meteorological Society (AMS)
The AMS is a global community committed to advancing weather, water, and climate science and service.
Atmospheric Radiation Measurement (ARM)
Provided by the U.S. Department of Energy, ARM is a key contributor to national and global atmospheric and climate research.
Climate Data and Weather Observations (National Centers for Environmental Information)
Get data and maps on climatology & extreme events and surface, upper air, and marine data.
Local Climatological Data Publication (NOAA)
A monthly summary from major airport weather stations that includes a daily account of temperature extremes, degree days, precipitation and winds. Also included are the hourly precipitation and abbreviated 3-hourly weather observations.
OneStop (NOAA)
A NOAA Data Search Platform. Geophysical, oceans, coastal, weather and climate data discovery all in one place.
Ready
Severe Weather 101 (National Severe Storms Laboratory)
Storm Events Database
Documents occurrence of storms and other significant weather events; rare, unusual weather phenomena, and other significant meteorological events.
Storm Prediction Center (NOAA)
Live Radar, watch/warning maps, NOAA Weather Radio, watches, outlooks, forecast tools, and more.
Weather Prediction Center
Includes Quantitative Precipitation Forecasts, Winter Weather Forecasts, Short Term Forecasts, Tropical Cyclone Forecasts, and more.
World Meteorological Organization
WMO is the United Nation's authoritative voice on the state and behaviour of the Earth's atmosphere, its interaction with the land and oceans, the weather and climate it produces and the resulting distribution of water resources.
World Meteorological Organization eLibrary
Browse collections by topic, region/country, or WMO program. Items with a PDF link are available full text.
World Weather & Climate Extremes Archive (WMO)
The World Meteorological Organization's World Weather & Climate Extremes Archive hosted by Arizona State University.