Research Guides: Physics: Career Resources

Physics Major

A physics degree prepares students for a career in electronics and mechanics, astronomy, military defense and many related fields.

A physics degree can be specialized for applied physics to prepare students for a career or graduate school in engineering.

Common careers: Aerospace Technicians, Astronomers and Astrophysicists, Computer Scientists, Engineers, Lab and Research Physicists, Military Defense Technicians, Military Officers.

For more information about a physics major at Angelo State University, visit the Department of Physics website.

ASU's Career Development website provides detailed information about Physics Major Careers.

Physics Careers

From the U.S. Bureau of Labor's Occupational Outlook Handbook online, find out about required education, training, credentials, job duties, work environment, salary range, job outlook, and more for each of the physics-related careers listed below:

From O*Net OnLine, find detailed information about exercise science-related careers, from detailed job tasks to required education, training, and skills.

Career Centers and Job Sites

AIP Career Resources
Provides a variety of information including career advice, webinars, employment data, job listings, and more.
APS Careers in Physics
Includes links to job postings, a step-by-step guide to physics careers, webinars on career guidance and advice, how to find industry mentors, and physicist profiles.
Careers Toolbox
To assist undergraduate physics students entering the workforce in finding internships, research positions, or even entrance into graduate programs.
SPS Career Resources
Explore physics career-related information, including profiles, advice, and links to related resources.

Career Resources

Career Guide to Industries
Provides information on available careers by industry, including the nature of the industry, working conditions, employment, occupations in the industry, training and advancement, earnings and benefits, employment outlook. 2010-2011 edition
Career OneStop
From the U.S. Department of Labor, provides a wide variety of information and tools.
Career Outlook
Provides data and information on a variety of topics—including occupations and industries, pay and benefits, and more. These articles are helpful for students, career counselors, jobseekers, and others planning careers.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Excellent resource for researching careers. Includes information about required education and training, job duties, work environment, salary, job outlook, similar occupations, and more.
Texas Workforce Commission
Contains great information for for career exploration, job seekers,and students.
Texas Workforce Commission - Career Exploration and Trends
Broken out of the Texas Workforce Commission site above, tools allow you to explore careers, compare careers and expenses, and match skills with careers.

Career Center Plus™ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Combines everything you need for a successful job search into one easy-to-use online application. First-time users are required to create a personal account.
LearningExpress Library™ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
eLearning solution that provides support to students and professionals for academic skill-building, standardized test prep, career certification test prep and more.
O*Net OnLine This link opens in a new window
Provides broad access to information on skills, abilities, knowledges, work activities, and interests associated with almost 1,000 occupations covering the entire U.S. economy. Job seekers can use the available key features to find out which jobs fit with their interests, skills, and experience; explore growth career profiles using the latest available labor market data; maximize earning potential and job satisfaction.
Vocational & Career Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text coverage for trade and industry-related periodicals designed to meet a wide variety of vocational and technical research needs.

Professional Organizations

Acoustical Society of America
Dedicated to generating, disseminating, and promoting the knowledge and practical applications of acoustics.
American Association of Physicists in Medicine (AAPM)
Scientific and professional organization dedicated to ensuring accuracy, safety and quality in the use of radiation in medical procedures such as medical imaging and radiation therapy.
American Association of Physics Teachers (AAPT)
AAPT's mission is to enhance the understanding and appreciation of physics through teaching.
American Institute of Physics (AIP)
Provides the means for its 10 Member Societies to pool, coordinate, and leverage their diverse expertise and contributions in the pursuit of the shared goal of advancing the physical sciences in the research enterprise, economy, education, and society.
American Meteorological Society (AMS)
The AMS is a global community committed to advancing weather, water, and climate science and service.
American Physical Society (APS)
Nonprofit membership organization working to advance and diffuse the knowledge of physics through its outstanding research journals, scientific meetings, and education, outreach, advocacy, and international activities.
European Physical Society (EPS)
A not for profit association of physicists for physics.
Institute of Physics (IOP)
UK-based learned society and professional body that works to advance physics education, research and application.
International Association of Mathematical Physics (IAMP)
Promotes research in mathematical physics. It brings together research mathematicians and theoretical physicists, including students.
National Society of Black Physicists (NSBP)
NSBP's mission is to promote the professional well-being of African American physicists and physics students within the international scientific community and within society at large.
Society of Physics Students (SPS)
Professional association explicitly designed for students and their advisers. Membership, through collegiate chapters, is open to anyone interested in physics.