Research Guides: Biology: Career Resources

Biology Major

A biology major is a field of undergraduate study that focuses on living things such as bacteria, animals and plants. Students may concentrate on learning about the overall field or on a particular specialty. Pursuing a biology major can help students prepare for a variety of careers in medical, environmental and scientific fields. They may also seek careers as researchers and work in a laboratory setting.

Angelo State University's Biology degree is part of a leading pre-med program.

For more information about Angelo State University's degrees in Biology, visit the Department website.

ASU's Career Development website provides detailed information about Biological Sciences Major Careers.

Biology Careers

From the U.S. Bureau of Labor's Occupational Outlook Handbook online, find out about required education, training, credentials, job duties, work environment, salary range, job outlook, and more for each of the careers in the field of biological sciences listed below:

From O*Net OnLine, find detailed information about biology-related careers, from detailed job tasks to required education, training, and skills.

Career Resources

Career Guide to Industries
Provides information on available careers by industry, including the nature of the industry, working conditions, employment, occupations in the industry, training and advancement, earnings and benefits, employment outlook. 2010-2011 edition
Career OneStop
From the U.S. Department of Labor, provides a wide variety of information and tools.
Career Outlook
Provides data and information on a variety of topics—including occupations and industries, pay and benefits, and more. These articles are helpful for students, career counselors, jobseekers, and others planning careers.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Excellent resource for researching careers. Includes information about required education and training, job duties, work environment, salary, job outlook, similar occupations, and more.
Texas Workforce Commission
Contains great information for for career exploration, job seekers,and students.
Texas Workforce Commission - Career Exploration and Trends
Broken out of the Texas Workforce Commission site above, tools allow you to explore careers, compare careers and expenses, and match skills with careers.

Career Center Plus™ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Combines everything you need for a successful job search into one easy-to-use online application. First-time users are required to create a personal account.
LearningExpress Library™ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
eLearning solution that provides support to students and professionals for academic skill-building, standardized test prep, career certification test prep and more.
O*Net OnLine This link opens in a new window
Provides broad access to information on skills, abilities, knowledges, work activities, and interests associated with almost 1,000 occupations covering the entire U.S. economy. Job seekers can use the available key features to find out which jobs fit with their interests, skills, and experience; explore growth career profiles using the latest available labor market data; maximize earning potential and job satisfaction.
Vocational & Career Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text coverage for trade and industry-related periodicals designed to meet a wide variety of vocational and technical research needs.

Professional Organizations

American Institute of Biological Sciences (AIBS)
AIBS works to promote the use of science to inform decision-making and advance biology for the benefit of science and society.
American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (ASBMB)
ASBMB’s mission is to advance the science of biochemistry and molecular biology and to promote the understanding of the molecular nature of life processes
American Society for Cell Biology (ASCB)
Information bank on cell biology; provides training and development opportunities for students.
American Society of Human Genetics (ASHG)
Founded in 1948, ASHG is the primary professional membership organization for human genetics specialists worldwide.
American Society of Naturalists (ASN)
Oldest scientific society dedicated to the study of ecology, evolution and behavior. The goal of the society is to advance and to diffuse knowledge of organic evolution and other broad biological principles so as to enhance the conceptual unification of the biological sciences.
American Society of Plant Biologists (ASPB)
Founded in 1924 to promote the growth and development of plant biology, to encourage and publish research in plant biology, and to promote the interests, growth, and education of plant scientists in general.
The Ecological Society of America (ESA)
ESA is a nonpartisan, nonprofit professional organization of ecological scientists that advances the science and practice of ecology and supports ecologists throughout their careers.
Human Biology Association
Professional organization broadly representing the interests of human biologists in the U.S. and throughout the world.
Society for Conservation Biology
SCB is non-profit organization dedicated to facilitating, promoting, and advancing the scientific study and conservation of biological diversity.
Society for Developmental Biology
A forum for research, education and career development in developmental biology.