Research Guides: Biology: Databases

Databases

Core Biology Databases
Multidisciplinary Databases

AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Large collection of citations from a variety of information resources covering many topics in the health and life sciences
Biological & Agricultural Index Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles and citations from core literature covering health and life sciences
Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive indexing for international literature in the life sciences.
BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text access to more than 190 high quality, subscribed and open-access titles focused in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
BioOne Open Access Titles This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to critical, peer-reviewed research in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
Gale In Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Understand environmental issues that affect people globally through topic overviews, journals, news, and multimedia content.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Explore scientific, technical, and medical research. Search for peer-reviewed journals, articles, book chapters and open access content.
Zoological Record This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes the complete range of zoological subjects including animal behavior, genetics, parasitology, ecology, habitat, reproduction, zoogeography, evolution, nutrition, and taxonomy.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database providing full-text access to scholarly journals, newspapers, books, and reports.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text access to journals, association publications, health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheets and quick lesson disease overviews, and continuing education modules.
Directory of Open Access Books This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Community-driven discovery service providing access to 37,052 academic, peer-reviewed, open access books from 607 publishers.
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Gale In Context: Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Providing access to reference content, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites on hundreds of science topics.
GPO Monthly Catalog This link opens in a new window
Indexing and citations for all types of U.S. government documents
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles focusing on all aspects of human impact to the environment,
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources covering more than 60 disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, sciences and mathematics.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to journal articles in the sciences and social sciences.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Global catalog that indexes collections from 72,000 participating libraries in 170 countries.

U-Search - Life Sciences

Suggested Keywords

biology, biotechnology, molecule, structure, genetic, biochemistry, cell, dna, life, evolution, microbiology, kingdoms, invertebrates, metabolism, homeostasis, natural selection, nucleus, osmosis, pathogen, adaptation, adrenaline, bacteria, biomass, carnivore, chloroplasts, clotting, diffusion, extinction, fats, receptors, species, transpiration, virus, vertebrates, zygote

Ask a Librarian

Need research assistance? One-on-one help is available via the Library’s Virtual Reference Room in Blackboard or phone (325-486-6534) during the following hours:

Monday-Thursday: 9 a.m. – 7 p.m.
Friday: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Saturday: 2 – 6 p.m.
Sunday: 1 – 5 p.m.

You can also contact us via

email or by posting on the Ask a Librarian Discussion Board in Blackboard.
Messages sent outside of normal service hours will be answered the next day the library is open (check Library Hours of Operation for current schedule).