Research Guides: COMM/MM 4365: Advanced Video Production: Databases

Film & Media Databases

ComAbstracts This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to communication-related publications, including relevant literature in other disciplines.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers full text and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for journals covering communication, mass media, communication theory, and other closely related fields of study.
Film & Television Literature Index (FTLI) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database covering all types of writing on topics for film and television
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web-based digital video delivery service that allows users to view streaming videos on a wide variety of subject areas and disciplines.

Multi-disciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database providing full-text access to a range of types of information
American Memory This link opens in a new window
Access to primary sources like images, audio, and motion pictures documenting the American experience
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database with scholarly articles encompassing all fields of the humanities
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from thousands of journals, magazines and books covering all aspects of the humanities

Suggested Keywords

Documentary Film

Ethics in Filmmaking

Video Production

Music Licensing

Pitch (video or film)

Video proposals

Treatment (Video or film)

Film Festivals

Without a box (withoutabox.com)

Audio techniques for film

Lighting techniques for film

Three point lighting

Ask a Librarian

Need research assistance? One-on-one help is available via the Library’s Virtual Reference Room in Blackboard or phone (325-486-6534) during the following hours:

Monday-Thursday: 9 a.m. – 7 p.m.
Friday: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Saturday: 2 – 6 p.m.
Sunday: 1 – 5 p.m.

You can also contact us via

email or by posting on the Ask a Librarian Discussion Board in Blackboard.
Messages sent outside of normal service hours will be answered the next day the library is open (check Library Hours of Operation for current schedule).

COMM/MM 4365: Advanced Video Production

Quick Help

Contact Us

Film & Media Databases

Multi-disciplinary Databases

Suggested Keywords

Ask a Librarian