COMM/MM 4365: Advanced Video Production

Location: Media Collection (ask at Circulation Desk for assistance) | Call Number: DVD 3850
2009 American documentary film examining the social costs of corporate interests that pursue profits at the expense of the public good.

Location: Media Collection (ask at Circulation Desk for assistance) | Call Number: DVD 4687
2005 American documentary film that tells the coming-of-age story of public speaker and feminist Shelby Knox, a teenager who joins a campaign for comprehensive sex education in the high schools of Lubbock, Texas.

Location: Media Collection (ask at Circulation Desk for assistance) | Call Number: DVD 3595
2008 American documentary film that examines corporate farming in the United States, concluding that agribusiness produces food that is unhealthy in a way that is environmentally harmful and abusive of both animals and employees.

Location: Media Collection (ask at Circulation Desk for assistance) | Call Number: DVD 4688
2000 French documentary film that explores the subject of gleaning—historically, the gathering of farm produce left after formal harvest, here including rural-urban reclamation of disposed food and objects. The film is notable for its use of a hand-held camera and for its unusual camera angles and techniques.

2011 educational and political documentary that centers on the banning of the Mexican-American Studies (MAS) Program in the Tucson Unified School District of Arizona.

Location: Media Collection (ask at Circulation Desk for assistance) | Call Number: DVD 2627
2007 American political documentary film investigating health care in the United States.

Location: Media Collection (ask at Circulation Desk for assistance) | Call Number: DVD 4690
2003 documentary that follows the transnational organizing of a community of Mexican immigrants who live and work in upstate New York. The men profiled in the film form an organization called ‘Grupo Unión,’ which is devoted to raising money in the United States to rebuild the Mexican town they’ve left behind.

Location: Media Collection (ask at Circulation Desk for assistance) | Call Number: DVD 1173
2004 American documentary film follows a 30-day period during which the filmmaker claimed to consume only McDonald's food. The film documents the drastic change on Spurlock's physical and psychological health and well-being. It also explores the fast food industry's corporate influence, including how it encourages poor nutrition for its own profit and gain.

Location: Media Collection (ask at Circulation Desk for assistance) | Call Number: DVD 4713
The first American movies were deeply engaged with society, coming from an era when movies and entertainment were intimately interwoven with public debate. As such, they were shown in commercial movie theaters but also in clubs, churches, schools, and everywhere screens could be hung outdoors.

Location: Media Collection (ask at Circulation Desk for assistance) | Call Number: DVD 1106
1935 German Nazi propaganda film chronicling the 1934 Nazi Party Congress (rally) in Nuremberg, which was attended by more than 700,000 Nazi supporters. Its overriding theme is the return of Germany as a great power with Hitler as its leader.

Location: Media Collection (ask at Circulation Desk for assistance) | Call Number: DVD 3758
Emmy-winning filmmakers take you into the world of producing Hollywood-quality movies on a small budget and using local resources.

2010 American documentary film that criticizes the American public education system by following several students as they strive to be accepted into competitive charter schools such as KIPP LA Schools, Harlem Success Academy and Summit Preparatory Charter High School.

Location: Media Collection (ask at Circulation Desk for assistance) | Call Number: DVD 4347
This 2010 British-Brazilian documentary film follows artist Vik Muniz as he travels to the world's largest landfill in Jardim Gramacho, just outside Rio de Janeiro, to collaborate with a lively group of "catadores" (workers who salvage recyclable materials from the garbage) to make contemporary art using some of the materials they have "picked".

Location: Media Collection (ask at Circulation Desk for assistance) | Call Number: DVD 2264
2006 documentary film about the devastation of New Orleans, Louisiana following the failure of the levees during Hurricane Katrina.