Research Guides: Nursing: Reference

Reference

Examples, search for more in RamCat!

Click medical dictionaries for a search for library books and eBooks resources.

Some highlights include -

Dictionary of Nursing Theory and Research by Bethel Ann Powers; Thomas R. Knapp
Publication Date: 2010
Includes new and updated entries on developing national and international research trends; contains content related to high-priority research areas, such as biological and biobehavioral research, outcomes research, health services research, and participatory models of research; and presents cross-references and citations from relevant multinational nursing and interdisciplinary literature sources.
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary by Venes, Donald
Mosby's Pocket Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing and Health Professions by Mosby
This comprehensive, portable dictionary offers a unique, strong focus on nursing and health science terminology. Featuring over 56,600 authoritative definitions of diseases, procedures, equipment, drugs, and more, it ensures you have the most reliable health science information right at your fingertips.

Examples, search for more in RamCat!

Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses by April Hazard Vallerand; Cynthia A. Sanoski
Publication Date: 2025
Delivers everything you need to administer medications safely across the lifespan—well-organized monographs encompassing hundreds of generic drugs and thousands of trade names.
Nurse's Pocket Drug Guide 2009 by Judith A. Barberio

Examples, search for more in RamCat!

Encyclopedia of Health Services Research by Ross M. Mullner (Editor)
Publication Date: 2009
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine by Laurie J. Fundukian
Publication Date: 2011
Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health by Jacqueline L. Longe (Editor)
Publication Date: 2017
Nutrition for Life: A No Fad, Non-Nonsense Approach to Eating Well and Reaching Your Healthy Weight by Lisa Hark; Darwin Deen

Atlas of Human Anatomy (5th edition) by Frank H. Netter
Publication Date: 2011
Provides a coherent, lasting visual vocabulary for understanding anatomy and how it applies to medicine today.
Nurse's Pocket Guide: Diagnoses, Proritized Interventions, and Rationales by Marilynn E. Doenges; Mary Frances Moorhouse; Alice C. Murr
Publication Date: 2016

Examples, search for more in RamCat!

Capturing Nursing History : A Guide to Historical Methods in Research by Sandra B. Lewenson (Editor); Eleanor Krohn Herrmann (Editor)
Publication Date: 2008
This book, contributed by well-known and respected nurse historians, provides the necessary direction, guidance, and examples needed to conduct historical research. It covers such topics as historiography, biographical research, using artifacts in historical research, doing archival and other data searches, doing international historical research, and locating funding sources for historical research.
Dictionary of Nursing Theory and Research by Bethel Ann Powers; Thomas R. Knapp
Publication Date: 2010
Includes new and updated entries on developing national and international research trends; contains content related to high-priority research areas, such as biological and biobehavioral research, outcomes research, health services research, and participatory models of research; and presents cross-references and citations from relevant multinational nursing and interdisciplinary literature sources.
Encyclopedia of Nursing Research by Joyce J. Fitzpatrick; Meredith Wallace Kazer
Publication Date: 2012
How to Read a Paper: The Basics of Evidence-Based Medicine by Trisha Greenhalgh
Publication Date: 2010
Nursing Theorists and Their Work by Martha Raile Alligood
Location: Second Floor Stacks
Qualitative Research in Nursing and Healthcare by Immy Holloway; Kathleen Galvin
Publication Date: 2017
The Research Process in Nursing by Kate Gerrish; Anne Lacey
Call Number: RT81.5 .R465 2010
Location: Second Floor Stacks
Writing for Publication in Nursing (3rd Edition) by Marilyn H. Oermann

To see ASU periodicals just with the term "nursing" in the title, try searching in Ramcat (found on the Library's HOMEPAGE) with the term nursing as a Journal Title search. You also have the options to search by Subject Browse or Select a medical subject category to see a broader range of journals available in your subject areas.

Clinical Nursing Research: An International Journal
International Peer-reviewed journal containing research articles focused on clinical practice in nursing.
Free Medical Journals
The Free Medical Journals Site provides over 650 titles in the medical field. The site was created "to promote the free availability of full text medical journals on the Internet."
Online Journal of Nursing Informatics
The Online Journal of Nursing Informatics is a free, international, peer reviewed publication that is published three times a year and supports all functional areas of nursing informatics.

Ask a Librarian

Need research assistance? One-on-one help is available via the Library’s Virtual Reference Room in Blackboard or phone (325-486-6534) during the following hours:

Monday-Thursday: 9 a.m. – 7 p.m.
Friday: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Saturday: 2 – 6 p.m.
Sunday: 1 – 5 p.m.

You can also contact us via

email or by posting on the Ask a Librarian Discussion Board in Blackboard.
Messages sent outside of normal service hours will be answered the next day the library is open (check Library Hours of Operation for current schedule).