Research Guides: Lunar New Year: Books/eBooks

Reference Databases

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to hundreds of reference resources covering every major subject.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains topic overview pages, subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other reference resources.

Selected Reference Resources

Asian American Society: An Encyclopedia (Volume 2) - Lunar New Year
Provides basic information on what Lunar New Year is and which countries celebrate this holiday. Also, emphasizes on how Asian Americans from different ethnic groups are celebrating their own traditions, practices, customs on Lunar New Year.
Berkshire Encyclopedia of China: Modern and Historic Views of the World's Newest and Oldest Global Power (Volume 3) - New Year (Spring Festival)
Provides in-depth history of lunar calendar and Lunar New Year. Also, provides what Chinese do, eat before and throughout the holiday season, and during the festivals.
Encyclopedia of Modern Asia (Volume 2) - Chinese New Year
Provides a brief history of Lunar New Year. Also, includes what people do on New Year’s Eve and throughout the New Year celebrations.
Encyclopedia of Modern Asia (Volume 5)- Sol
Focuses on ancestral rituals, activities and foods during the Korean New Year.
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America (Volume 2, Second edition) - Mongolian Americans)
Provides a brief history and traditions of Tsagaan Sar.

Oxford picture dictionary. English/Chinese by Adelson-Goldstein, Jayme
Call Number: PL1455 .A34 2009
Provides short definitions of 4,000 words and phrases in both languages with illustrations.
Oxford picture dictionary : English/Korean by Adelson-Goldstein, Jayme
Call Number: PL939 .S52 2009
Contains short definitions of 4,000 words and phrases in English and Korean with illustrations.

Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life (Volume 4) - Vietnamese
Provides a brief information on what Vietnamese do during the Tet.

Selected e-Books

Chase's calendar of events 2020: the ultimate go-to guide for special days, weeks and months
Provides history of Chinese Lunar New Year and Lunar Calendar. Also, how Chinese celebrate each day of the new year break.
Cultureshock! Korea: a survival guide to customs and etiquette
This book talks about what the lunar calendar is and how Lunar New Year, or Seollal, is celebrated. Also, goes in-depth on few Lunar New Year traditions and customs, such as ancestral rituals and deep bow, or sebae.
Historical dictionary of Mongolia
This book briefly talks about what and when Tsagaan Sar is. Also, talks about Lunar New Year can fall in different date than the Chinese New Year depending on adding the leap month and some schools follow other calendars.
Mandarin Chinese picture dictionary: learn 1,500 key Chinese words and phrases
A picture dictionary that covers useful Mandarin Chinese words and phrases on culture-specific topics like celebrating Chinese holidays and eating Chinese food.
Viet Nam: Tradition and Change
Read about the Vietnamese Lunar New Year Tet) traditions and customs.

Selected Juvenile Books

Cat and Rat: The Legend of the Chinese Zodiac
A story on the contest that Jade Emperor opened to select the twelve animals for his calendar. Also, focuses on why cat and rat were best friends, but after the contest they became enemies.

Location: Juvenile Collection (Basement)
Call Number: BF1714.C5 Y68 1995
Story of the Chinese Zodiac = El Zodíaco Chino
Call Number: BF1714.C5 C52 1994
A story on how twelve animals were chosen for the Chinese Zodiac. Also, on why cat is not in the Chinese Zodiac.
Location: Juvenile Collection (Basement)
The Chinese Book of Animal Powers
Call Number: BF1714.C5 H76 1999
This book is about twelve animals of the Chinese zodiac. It describes each animals’ characteristics and powers. Find out which animal characteristics and powers you and your friends and families were born with.
Location: Juvenile Collection (Basement)
The Rooster's Antlers: A Story of the Chinese Zodiac
Call Number: PZ8.1.K567 R6 1999
A story between Jade emperor and two animals, dragon and rooster, which are part of Chinese zodiac. Also, talks about characteristics of each twelve animals and their cycle.
Location: Juvenile Collection (Basement)

Ask a Librarian

Need research assistance? One-on-one help is available via the Library’s Virtual Reference Room in Blackboard or phone (325-486-6534) during the following hours:

Monday-Thursday: 9 a.m. – 7 p.m.
Friday: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Saturday: 2 – 6 p.m.
Sunday: 1 – 5 p.m.

You can also contact us via

email or by posting on the Ask a Librarian Discussion Board in Blackboard.
Messages sent outside of normal service hours will be answered the next day the library is open (check Library Hours of Operation for current schedule).