Research Guides: Astronomy: Reference

Reference Databases

Credo Reference
Provides access to hundreds of reference resources covering every major subject.
Gale eBooks
Contains topic overview pages, subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other reference resources.

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

New Dictionary of Scientific Biography by Noretta Koertge
Publication date: 2008
Provides information on the history of science through articles on the professional lives of scientists. All periods of science from classical antiquity to modern times are represented.
Encyclopedia of Space and Astronomy (2nd edition) by Joseph A. Angelo
Publication date: 2017
Offers a complete presentation of the main concepts, terms, facilities, and people in astronomy. The encyclopedia pays special attention to space-based astronomy and space exploration.
Encyclopedia of the History of Astronomy and Astrophysics by David Leverington
Publication date: 2013
Covers the full history of astronomy from its ancient origins to the latest developments in astrophysics and space-based research.
Encyclopedia of the Solar System (3rd edition) by Tilman Spohn (Editor); Doris Breuer (Editor); Torrence Johnson (Editor)
Publication date: 2014
Provides a framework for understanding the origin and evolution of the solar system, historical discoveries, and details about planetary bodies and how they interact—with an astounding breadth of content and breathtaking visual impact.

Guides, Handbooks & Manuals

Atlas of the Universe by Patrick Moore
Publication date: 2005
A clear and accessible reference to the stars, the planets and the universe, written by Britain's best-known astronomer, Sir Patrick Moore
Schaum's Outline of Astronomy by Stacey Palen
Publication date: 2002
Contains practice problems with full explanations that reinforce knowledge, In-depth review of practices and applications, and more.
The Visual Guides: Understanding The Universe by QAInternational
Publication date: 2007
Find answers to some of the most important questions about the universe through a series of videos and animations:

Ask a Librarian

Need research assistance? One-on-one help is available via the Library’s Virtual Reference Room in Blackboard or phone (325-486-6534) during the following hours:

Monday-Thursday: 9 a.m. – 7 p.m.
Friday: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Saturday: 2 – 6 p.m.
Sunday: 1 – 5 p.m.

You can also contact us via

email or by posting on the Ask a Librarian Discussion Board in Blackboard.
Messages sent outside of normal service hours will be answered the next day the library is open (check Library Hours of Operation for current schedule).