It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Handbook of Texas is a free digital state encyclopedia developed by the Texas State Historical Association. The Handbook consists of overview, general, and biographical entries focused on the entire history of Texas from the indigenous Native Americans and the Prehistoric Era to the state’s diverse population and the Modern Age. These entries emphasize the role Texans played in state, national, and world history.
This map shows approximate locations of digitized newspapers available in the Chronicling America Historic American Newspapers collection. Explore the newspapers by clicking the dots on the map and access a time slider in the lower left hand corner to interact with the newspaper publishing timeline. Dates on the timeline represent publication dates of currently available digitized content.
Southern Methodist University's digital collection reflects the state's history during the 19th and 20th centuries. The digitized files in this online collection illustrate historical events such as the development of the Texas oil industry, relations with Mexico, the Texas Revolution, Mexican Revolution and Civil War. The collection also includes images of cultural experiences like the iconic State Fair of Texas and everyday life in the state.
Updated weekly. Includes more than 80 full text journals and books about Texas history, ethnic & cultural diversity, gender studies, literature, public health, business as well as home & garden and sports & leisure.
A definitive research database covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. It includes hundreds of full-text history journals, plus useful features such as the ability to search by time period.
Searchable full-text and full-image resources from scholarly journals, as well as e-books, and primary resources. Also contains images from Artstor and many free images from libraries around the world. Subject areas include the arts, humanities, social sciences, science, math, and business.
Searchable full-text and full-image versions of scholarly journals and e-books from university presses and scholarly societies. Subject areas include the humanities, social sciences, math, and science.