Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

COMM 2335: Argument and Debate

Related Guides

Ask A Librarian

Need research assistance? One-on-one help is available via the Library’s Virtual Reference Room in Blackboard or Phone iconphone (325-486-6534) during the following hours:

  • Monday-Thursday: 9 a.m. – 7 p.m.
  • Friday: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.
  • Saturday: 2 – 6 p.m.
  • Sunday: 1 – 5 p.m.
You can also contact us via Email email or by posting on the Ask a Librarian Discussion Board in Blackboard. Messages sent outside of normal service hours will be answered the next day the library is open.

About this Guide

This Course Guide contains information and helpful resources for student assignments in COMM 2335: Argument and Debate.

See below for a brief explanation of the pages in this guide.

Lincoln-Douglas Debates

Includes the text for each of the seven debates, some background information, some key topics for each debate, and U-Search to begin research.

Town Hall Meeting

Includes news articles, video recordings, and other resources for various types of town hall meetings including Presidential and local meetings.

Persuasive Speech-National Policy

This page provides information about the following national policies: Domestic, Economic, Education, Environment, and Foreign. Includes information about each policy, research starters, and recommended databases.

Op Ed - Letter to the Editor

Provides helpful information for understanding the differences between Op Eds and Letters to the Editor. Includes some basics for writing each type of document.

Polls & Statistics

Includes links for recommended databases and web resources for pulling statistics, data, and public opinion information in a variety of different subject areas.

Evaluating Sources

Methods for evaluating information sources to help in selection of authoritative sources that best match your information need.

Citation Styles

List of reputable websites to help you interpret the citation style guide used for your classes.

Library Instructional Videos

Short videos to help you brush up on research skills and strategy.

Off Campus Access to Databases

How to access databases from off campus and troubleshooting guidelines should you encounter any problems with access.

Books

Ask a Librarian

Need research assistance? One-on-one help is available via the Library’s Virtual Reference Room in Blackboard or Phone iconphone (325-486-6534) during the following hours:

  • Monday-Thursday: 9 a.m. – 7 p.m.
  • Friday: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.
  • Saturday: 2 – 6 p.m.
  • Sunday: 1 – 5 p.m.
You can also contact us via Email email or by posting on the Ask a Librarian Discussion Board in Blackboard. Messages sent outside of normal service hours will be answered the next day the library is open.

Depository Library

Depository library logo   The Porter Henderson Library is a Congressionally designated depository for US Government Documents.