Research Guides: Theatre: Databases

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database providing full-text access to scholarly journals, newspapers, books, and reports.
Drama Online: National Theatre Collections 1 and 2 This link opens in a new window
Video collections of National Theatre Live broadcasts of performances and other recordings from the NT Archive. The collections include comedies, 20th century classic and modern plays, Shakespeare plays, literary adaptations, and Greek dramas for a total of 50 performances.
Film & Television Literature Index (FTLI) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database covering all types of writing on topics for film and television. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Resources include: industry papers, news journalism, and scholarly academic journals.
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text, abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present.
OAISter This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Catalog of open access digital resources [scanned books, journal articles, newspapers and manuscripts, digital text, audio files (.wav, mp3), video files (mp4, QuickTime), photographic images (.jpg, .tif, .gif), data sets (downloadable statistical information) and theses and research papers] covering a variety of disciplines.

Suggested Keywords

actor, actress, audience, audition, cast, casting, comedy, costumes, critic, director, dramatic unities, dramatist, entertainment, epilogue, impersonator, improvisation, lighting, method acting, monologue, musical, offstage action, one-person show, performing arts, play, play within a play, prologue, rigging, roles, scene, soliloquy, sound, stage adaptation, stage directions, stage management, theatrical effects, theatrical producer, tragedy, tragicomedy, wardrobe

U-Search - Performing & Visual Arts

Ask a Librarian

Need research assistance? One-on-one help is available via the Library’s Virtual Reference Room in Blackboard or phone (325-486-6534) during the following hours:

Monday-Thursday: 9 a.m. – 7 p.m.
Friday: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Saturday: 2 – 6 p.m.
Sunday: 1 – 5 p.m.

You can also contact us via

email or by posting on the Ask a Librarian Discussion Board in Blackboard.
Messages sent outside of normal service hours will be answered the next day the library is open (check Library Hours of Operation for current schedule).