Research Guides: Sneeze! Researching Countries: Home

Researching Countries

This research guide was originally developed to assist military instructors and their students with locating reputable information resources pertaining to countries. It is entitled Sneeze! due to participants being located at Fort Huachuca (sounds like sneeze), AZ and Goodfellow Air Force, TX during the latter's annual influx of cedar pollen. The original Sneeze moniker may have come from a letter that was addressed to Fort Sneeze and was correctly delivered at Fort Huachuca. As I recollect, a possible additional nickname "Gesundheit" may have been documented in the book What is Arizona Really Like? by Reg Manning.

Resources

Bank for International Settlements - Central bank and monetary authority websites
The BIS is a forum for discussion, policy analysis and knowledge-sharing among central banks and within the international financial and supervisory community.
BBC News Country Profiles
Provides an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions.
Cepalstat (Latin America & countries)
CEPALSTAT is a gateway the statistical information of Latin America and the Caribbean countries. Also see https://statistics.cepal.org/portal/cepalstat/national-profile.html?theme=1&country=atg&lang=en
CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides basic intelligence on 266 world entities.
Commisceo Global Country Guides
Learn about the culture, language, people, beliefs, etiquette, business practices and more.
Constitute Project
A comprehensive analysis of the world's constitutions, to support constitutional design and to inform citizens.
Countries, economies and regions (Australian government)
Information about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of almost 240 countries and economies.
Country statistical profiles: Key tables from OECD
Statistical profiles include a wide range of indicators on economy, education, energy, environment, foreign aid, health, information and communication, labor, migration, R&D, trade and society.
globalEDGE
A knowledge portal that connects international business professionals worldwide to information, insights, and learning resources on global business activities.
Reporters Without Borders
Includes journalism-centered country fact files one media, politics, law, economics, and more.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Links to Non-BLS statistical sites including international
Links to International Statistical Organizations.
U.S. Census International Database
Population estimates and projections for 227 countries and equivalent areas, plus 15,237 subnational areas.
U.S. Census International Programs Center (scroll for products)
The International Programs Center advances data-driven decision making through tools, capacity strengthening, and data products for the global statistical community.
U.S. Energy Information Station
Information about energy from around the world.
U.S. State Department Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets (Background Notes)
Includes facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty.
U Ndata
UNdata brings international statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single-entry point. Users can search and download a variety of statistical resources compiled by the United Nations (UN) statistical system and other international agencies.
U N Human Development Report Insights by Country
Access and explore human development data for 191 countries and territories worldwide.
World Bank - Where We Work
Provides summaries, data, and current developments for 170 countries.
World Bank Data - Countries and Economies
Just the facts (numbers/charts and graphs) re countries and economies.
World Bank Databank
DataBank is an analysis and visualisation tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. Create queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and save, embed, and share them.