Research Guides: HIST 3362: Mexican American History: Reference

Getting Started: Reference

At the beginning of a research project we recommend using Reference databases and Reference books. They are an excellent resource for getting a big picture overview of a subject, getting factual information, finding additional sources, and more!

Some common Reference materials are:

Dictionaries: provide brief descriptions of terms related to subjects
Encyclopedias: an authoritative resource containing factual details and providing a broad overview of a subject
Handbooks: provide factual information on a subject or instructions on how to perform a task
Almanacs: an annual publication containing important dates and statistical information
Bibliographies: contain lists of sources by a specific author or on a particular topic. Three types of bibliographies are Analytical, Enumerative, and Annontated

Use U-Search or RamCat on the Library's homepage to find more!

Reference Databases

Credo Reference
Provides access to hundreds of reference resources covering every major subject.
Gale eBooks
Contains topic overview pages, subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other reference resources.

Encyclopedias

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States by Suzanne Oboler (Editor); Deena J. González (Editor); Deena J. González (Editor)
Publication date: 2005
This scholarly work draws together the diverse historical and contemporary experiences in the United States of Latinos and Latinas from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East.
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture (2nd edition) by Jay Kinsbruner (Editor)
Publication date: 2008
Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.
Encyclopedia of Mexico: History, Society and Culture by Michael S. Werner (Editor)
Publication date: 1997
Covers topics regarding Mexican culture and ethnicities, history, notable people, folklore, and more. Includes entries relevant to Mexican American history.
Encyclopedia of the Mexican American Civil Rights Movement by Margo Gutiérrez; Matt S. Meier
Location: Second Floor Stacks | Call Number: E184.M5 M458 2000
Bringing together a wealth of information on the Mexican American struggle for civil rights, this authoritative encyclopedia provides factual up-to-date information on the concepts, issues, plans, legislation, court decisions, events, organizations, and people involved in that long fight.
Tejano leadership in Mexican and Revolutionary Texas by Jesús F. de la Teja
Publication date: 2010
Examines the lives, careers, and influence of many Tejano leaders who were active and influential in the formation, political and military leadership, and economic development of Texas.

Dictionaries

Dictionary of Latino Civil Rights History by F. Arturo Rosales
Publication date: 2006
With over 922 entries on significant events, figures, laws, and other historical items, this ground-breaking reference work covers the fight for equality from the mid-nineteenth century to the present by the various Hispanic groups in the United States.
Dictionary of Mexican American History by Matt S. Meier; Felician Rivera
Location: Second Floor Stacks | Call Number: E184.M5 M453 1981
Topics included are not only people, places, and events, but laws, treaties, and organizations.

Ask a Librarian

Need research assistance? One-on-one help is available via the Library’s Virtual Reference Room in Blackboard or phone (325-486-6534) during the following hours:

Monday-Thursday: 9 a.m. – 7 p.m.
Friday: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Saturday: 2 – 6 p.m.
Sunday: 1 – 5 p.m.

You can also contact us via

email or by posting on the Ask a Librarian Discussion Board in Blackboard.
Messages sent outside of normal service hours will be answered the next day the library is open (check Library Hours of Operation for current schedule).