Research Guides: Mechanical Engineering: Reference

Reference Databases

Credo Reference
Provides access to hundreds of reference resources covering every major subject.
Gale eBooks
Contains topic overview pages, subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other reference resources.

Reference Books/eBooks

Concise Dictionary of Engineering by Ron Hanifan
Publication date: 2014
This essential reference defines the principle and most commonly used terms found in engineering documents and drawings across multiple disciplines and explains them in plain, unambiguous English.
Dictionary of Engineering (2nd edition) by McGraw Hill
Publication date: 2003
This vital reference offers a wealth of essential information in a portable, convenient, quick-find format. Covers such topics as building construction, civil engineering, control systems, design engineering, engineering acoustics, industrial engineering, mechanical engineering, and thermodynamics.
Pocket Illustrated Dictionary of Engineering Terms by Peter Twigg; Roger L. Timings
Publication date: 2001
A comprehensive dictionary of terms for engineering students containing entries covering the areas of engineering science, electrical and electronic engineering, workshop practices and mechanical engineering.
A Dictionary of Mechanical Engineering by Marcel Escudier; Tony Atkins
Publication date: 2019
Provides clear and concise definitions and explanations for over 8,000 mechanical-engineering terms in the core areas of design, stress analysis, dynamics, thermodynamics, and fluid mechanics, together with newly extended coverage of materials engineering.

Oversight of Army Corps of Engineers Water Management in the Apalachicola-Chattahoochee-Flint (ACF) and the Alabama-Coosa-Tallapoosa (ACT) River System
Hearing before the Committee on Environment and Public Works, United States Senate, One Hundred Thirteenth Congress, first session, July 22, 2013
The Importance of Enacting a New Water Resources Development Act:
Hearing before the Committee on Environment and Public Works, United States Senate, One Hundred Fourteenth Congress, first session, February 10. 2016.
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC®)
Serves the information needs of the defense community by providing access to government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related resources.
NASA Technical Reports Server
Public, online archive of aerospace-related scientific and technical information created or funded by NASA, including research reports, journal articles, patents, images, and videos.
OSTI.gov
The primary search tool for DOE science, technology, and engineering research and development results. It consolidates OSTI’s home page and the retired search tool SciTech Connect.
National Technical Reports Library
Contains full text technical reports and bibliographic records for technical reports for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information.

Machinery's Handbook (31st Edition) by Erik Oberg; Franklin D. Jones (and others)
Publication date: 2020
Universally considered the principal reference in the manufacturing and mechanical industries, this handbook is the ultimate collection of essential information needed by engineers, designers, drafters, metalworkers, toolmakers, machinists, educators, students, and serious home hobbyists.
Hydraulic Control Systems by Noah D. Manring; Roger C. Fales
Publication date: 2019
A reliable and comprehensive guide to the hows and whys of today's hydraulic control system fundamentals. Complete with insightful industry examples, it features the latest coverage of modeling and control systems with a widely accepted approach to systems design.
Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, 12th Edition by Ali M. Sadegh; William M. Worek
Publication date: 2017
Provides clear, concise answers to thousands of mechanical engineering questions. Readers get accurate data and calculations along with easy-to-understand explanations of current principles, standards, and practices and important codes.
Mechanical Design Engineering Handbook by Peter Childs
Publication date: 2014/span>
This book is a straight-talking and forward-thinking reference covering the design, specification, selection, use and integration of machine elements fundamental to a wide range of engineering applications.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 97th Edition by William M. Haynes (Editor)
Publication date: 2017
An authoritative resource consisting of tables of data and current international recommendations on nomenclature, symbols, and units, its usefulness spans not only the physical sciences but also related areas of biology, geology, and environmental science.

Electronic Journal of Geotechnical Engineering
Environmental Science & Policy
Environmental Science & Technology
Geophysical Research Letters
International Journal of Geoengineering Case Histories
Journal of Pressure Vessel Technology
Science Watch
A free online journal tracking science trends and progress

GeoScienceWorld
Comprehensive Internet resource for research and communications in the earth sciences, contains journals and selected eBook collections.

SAGE Premier (SAGE Journals Online)
Provides online, and many times full-text, access to more than 560 peer-reviewed journals published by SAGE Publications.

ScienceDirect
Explore scientific, technical, and medical research. Search for peer-reviewed journals, articles, book chapters and open access content.
Wiley Online Library
Full-text access to journal articles in the sciences and social sciences.

Ask a Librarian

Need research assistance? One-on-one help is available via the Library’s Virtual Reference Room in Blackboard or phone (325-486-6534) during the following hours:

Monday-Thursday: 9 a.m. – 7 p.m.
Friday: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Saturday: 2 – 6 p.m.
Sunday: 1 – 5 p.m.

You can also contact us via

email or by posting on the Ask a Librarian Discussion Board in Blackboard.
Messages sent outside of normal service hours will be answered the next day the library is open (check Library Hours of Operation for current schedule).