Use this guide to find a variety of resources to assist you in researching film, film history and practical aspects of filmmaking and the film industry.
Provides documentary film information and resources for both viewers and filmmakers. Content includes reviews, film releases, updates on upcoming films, and essays covering various aspects of documentary films.
Award-winning website featuring detailed plot synopses, review commentary and film reference materials. The site also contains film analysis, original content, information on the top films and most memorable movie scenes.
Offers a searchable database of more than 185 million data items including more than 3.5 million movies, TV and entertainment programs and 7 million cast and crew members.
Presents a curated selection of materials from the library's extensive holdings on motion picture history. Items include correspondence, photographs, sheet music, scrapbooks, lobby cards, movie ephemera, books, film magazines and industry publications.
The Internet’s largest database of movie reviews for over 100,000 titles. The site provides a searchable index of all published and available reviews, news, interviews, and other materials associated with specific movies.
The National Film Registry selects 25 films each year showcasing the range and diversity of American film heritage to increase awareness for its preservation.
Links to several hundred free, downloadable movie scripts, how-to resources for writers, as well as practical information, and a message board where users can discuss and critique each other's work.
Founded in 1919 with the purpose of advancing the art and science of cinematography and bringing cinematographers together to exchange ideas, discuss techniques and promote the motion picture as an art form.
American trade association representing the five major film studios of the United States, as well as the video streaming service Netflix. Its main goals are promoting effective copyright protection, reducing piracy, and expanding market access.
Lading scholarly organization in the United States dedicated to promoting a broad understanding of film, television, and related media through research and teaching grounded in the contemporary humanities tradition.
International organization where media production and writing meets the history, theory and criticism of the media. The UFVA members are image-makers and artists, teachers and students, archivists and distributors, college departments, libraries, and manufacturers.
Global network of non-profit membership chapters dedicated to advancing professional development and achievement for women working in all areas of film, video, and other screen-based media.
Ask a Librarian
Need research assistance? One-on-one help is available via the Library’s Virtual Reference Room in Blackboard or phone (325-486-6534) during the following hours:
Monday-Thursday: 9 a.m. – 7 p.m.
Friday: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Saturday: 2 – 6 p.m.
Sunday: 1 – 5 p.m.
You can also contact us via email or by posting on the Ask a Librarian Discussion Board in Blackboard. Messages sent outside of normal service hours will be answered the next day the library is open (check Library Hours of Operation for current schedule).
phone (325-486-6534) during the following hours:
email or by posting on the Ask a Librarian Discussion Board in Blackboard.