Asian American and Pacific Islander History

"Asian American Life is a multiple Emmy-nominated news magazine show that addresses topical news issues, features, and celebrities. We highlight Asian American communities nationwide and profile Asian American leaders."

"The Asian American Writers’ Workshop (AAWW) is devoted to creating, publishing, developing and disseminating creative writing by Asian Americans, and to providing an alternative literary arts space at the intersection of migration, race, and social justice."

The museum is home to one of the world’s finest collections of Asian art, boasting more than 18,000 awe-inspiring artworks ranging from ancient jades and ceramics to contemporary video installations. Dynamic special exhibitions, cultural celebrations and public programs for all ages provide rich art experiences that unlock the past and spark questions about the future.

The Asia Society Museum Collection comprises both traditional and contemporary Asian and Asian American art. Included are Asian artworks and artifacts from diverse nations—such as Pakistan, India, Bangladesh, Nepal, Myanmar, Thailand, Cambodia, Vietnam, Indonesia, China, Korea, and Japan—that date from the eleventh century BCE to the nineteenth century CE.

Asia Society Texas Center celebrates the vibrant cultures and diverse perspectives of Asians and Asian Americans through innovative programs in arts and culture, business and policy, and education. Through family-friendly festivals, policy conversations, thought-provoking exhibitions, and more, our exciting programs offer all-ages opportunities to engage year-round with artists, speakers, and topics that connect us all.

Provides five examples of Asian American Representation in Film along with some background of each film.

"Hyphen is a news and culture magazine, media outlet, and community partner that illuminates Asian America through investigative features on the cultural and political trends shaping the fastest-growing population in the country. We offer in-depth profiles of change-makers in our community and a window into the world of artists and writers who are re-envisioning and rewriting what it means to be Asian American."

As the national repository of Japanese American history, JANM creates groundbreaking historical and arts exhibitions, educational public programs, award-winning documentaries, and innovative curriculum that illuminate the stories and the rich cultural heritage of people of Japanese ancestry in the United States.

The mission of the Pacific Island Ethnic Art Museum is to "amplify the collective wisdom of the Pacific Islands people of Oceania through a permanent collection, educational programs, rotating exhibits, and living arts."

The Smithsonian Asian Pacific American Center strives to enrich the American Story with the voices of Asian Pacific Americans.

APIAHF is the oldest and largest health advocacy organization working with AA and NHPI communities across the nation, in the US Territories, and with the US‐affiliated Pacific jurisdictions. APIAHF influences policy, mobilizes communities, and strengthens programs and organizations to improve the health of Asian Americans, Native Hawaiians, and Pacific Islanders.

Serves as a national voice advocating for the unique and diverse health needs of Asian American and Pacific Islander communities. Three primary areas of focus are: Health equity & access, training & capacity building, and health care quality & innovation.

How the CDC works to Improve the Health of Asian American and Pacific Islander Populations

Provides statistical and health information about Asians and Pacific Islanders in the United States.

Mental Health Awareness Guide focusing on Asian/Pacific Americans by the National Alliance on Mental Illness

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) reports on healthcare quality and disparities. The annual National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Report is mandated by Congress to provide a comprehensive overview of the quality of healthcare received by the general U.S. population and disparities in care experienced by different racial and socioeconomic groups. We suggest using the Table of content window to help navigate and locate the sections you would like to view.

American Academy of Family Physicians New Release

Examines an Urdu women’s magazine published during the Partition of South Asia in 1947 to take a look at the experiences of women refugees.

Picks up the thread of textiles born in conditions of dislocation by drawing attention to Hmong story cloths. These works of textile art came out of the context of the exodus of thousands of Hmong from Laos following the end of the Vietnam War in 1975.

A Library of Congress blog post touching on the treatment of Asian Americans in the Military historically

A Library of Congress cascade index of Asian Americans in the military, namely their treatment and struggles historically, from the Civil War to Vietnam War.

A collection of primary source materials documenting the Japanese American experience. A key part of the collection focuses on incarcerations during World War II.

"Founded in 1982, the Filipino American National Historical Society (FANHS) documents and promotes Filipino American history through its archives, conferences, books, programs, films, art and more."

This resource provides some background on The Filipino Forum an bi-weekly newspaper published in Seattle from 1928 to 1969 and edited throughout that time by Victorio Velasco. The issues from which was discussed are from 1928 to 1963 through the Chronicling America, a open-access newspaper database. This resource also provides some links to Filipino American economic history and businesses beyond the newspaper and on the broader Asian community.

"As the national repository of Japanese American history, JANM creates groundbreaking historical and arts exhibitions, educational public programs, award-winning documentaries, and innovative curriculum that illuminate the stories and the rich cultural heritage of people of Japanese ancestry in the United States."

The Korean American National Museum's mission is to preserve and interpret the history, experiences, culture and achievements of Americans of Korean ancestry.

Since its founding in 1980, MOCA has celebrated the living history of the Chinese experience in America by preserving and presenting the 200-year history, heritage, culture, and diverse experiences of American communities of Chinese descent.

Asian Pacific America is the story of a vibrant, diverse, and resilient set of communities that have been part of the American experience for more than two hundred years. The Smithsonian Asian Pacific American Center serves as a dynamic national resource for discovering why the Asian Pacific American experience matters every day, everywhere, and all of the time.

SAADA (the South Asian American Digital Archive) contains materials covering a variety of themes from the early immigration experience through current topics.

The Asian Pacific American Heritage Association (APAHA) was formed in Houston in 1992 with the mission to recognize and promote awareness and increase understanding of Asian American and Pacific Islander culture, diversity, and accomplishments through education and celebration.

Asian Pacific Americans in Higher Education addresses Asian Pacific American concerns and issues in higher education.

Advances teaching, research, understanding, and closer ties in the field of Asian American Studies including Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Filipino, Hawaiian, Southeast Asian, South Asian, Pacific Islander, and other groups.

Advances representation for Asian American and Pacific Islander creators and executives in Hollywood

The Center for Asian Pacific American Women is a national, nonprofit organization dedicated to the enhancement and enrichment of leadership skills for Asian American and Pacific Islander (AAPI) women through education, networking, and mentorship.

The National Council of Asian Pacific Americans is a coalition of 38 national Asian Pacific American organizations around the country. It serves to represent the interests of the greater Asian American (AA) and Native Hawaiian Pacific Islander (NHPI) communities and to provide a national voice for AA and NHPI issues.

SEARAC is a national civil rights organization representing Cambodian, Laotian, and Vietnamese American communities to create a socially just and equitable society.