Research Guides: Social Work Policy Sources: Health Care Programs

Programs Focusing on Medical Care

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality's (AHRQ)
Researches and provides information related to health care affordability, efficiency, and cost transparency.
Centers for Disease Control (CDC)
CDC researches disease and prevention, provides training, and monitors and publicizes disease outbreaks.
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS)
CMS covers health care for millions of people and aims for better care at lower costs and improved health.
Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) and Children’s Medicaid
Information on obtaining low cost or free health coverage from CHIP or Medicaid.
more...less...
Both programs cover office visits, prescription drugs, dental care, eye exams, glasses, and much more. Families with children who get Children’s Medicaid pay nothing and children with CHIP pay no more than $50 a year for health care coverage. Some families with CHIP also may need to pay co-pays for some services.
San Angelo Health Services
Responsible for public health issues ranging from restaurant inspections to immunizations to the public smoking ban to the control of stray animals.
Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS)
Texas Medicaid Program
Information on how the Affordable Care Act changes CMS benefits for Texas residents
Texas Medicaid Provider Home Page
The home page for the third-party provider for Texas Medicaid.
Texas Medicaid & Healthcare Partnership
Information about the partnership between Texas and the third-party provider for Texas Medicaid.
more...less...
As of January 1, 2004, ACS State Healthcare LLC, under contract with the Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC), assumed administration of claims processing for Texas Medicaid and other state health-care programs. ACS, a XEROX company, meets its new consolidated health-care responsibilities with a team of subcontractors under the name of TMHP.
Texas Children’s Health Plan
The nation's first health maintenance organization (HMO) created just for children, but it also covers adults. For those who have Medicaid or CHIP.
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Health care programs, helping people find jobs and parents find affordable child care, by keeping the food on Americans’ shelves safe and infectious diseases at bay, and by pushing the boundaries of how we diagnose and treat disease. Includes the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Check out the article, "How the Health Care Law is Making a Difference for the People of Texas."
U.S. Food and Drug Administration
Provides information related to health fraud, medicine safety alerts, and more, for audiences like seniors, women, patients and patient advocates, parents and caregivers, health educators, students, and kids.
Veterans Health Administration

Government Information related to the Affordable Care Act

Programs Focusing on Mental Health Care

Mental Health and Substance Abuse Division (MHSA) of the Texas Department of State Health Services
Provides leadership and services that promote hope, build resilience, and foster recovery for mental health patients.
MentalHealth.gov
Access federal mental health information
National Alliance on Mental Illness
The foundation for hundreds of centers where volunteer leaders raise awareness and provide essential and free education, advocacy and support group programs.
National Institute on Drug Abuse
Conducts and disseminates research to significantly improve prevention and treatment and to inform policy as it relates to drug abuse and addiction.
National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)
Performs clinical research to transform the understanding and treatment of mental illnesses.
National Suicide Prevention Lifeline
24-hour, toll-free, confidential suicide prevention hotline available to anyone or provide referrals in suicidal crisis or emotional distress: 1-800-273-TALK (8255).
StopBullying.gov
Information from various government agencies on what bullying is, what cyberbullying is, who is at risk, and how you can prevent and respond to bullying.
Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services Administration
Administers regional centers providing information and support for initiatives like prevention of mental illness, recovery support, health reform, and more.