Research Guides: Marketing: Reference

Reference Databases

Credo Reference
Provides access to hundreds of reference resources covering every major subject.
Gale eBooks
Contains topic overview pages, subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other reference resources.

Reference Books

Cultural Geography: A Critical Dictionary of Key Concepts by Neil Washbourne (Editor)
Publication date: 2005
This text presents short essays exploring the key concepts in cultural geography written by leading practitioners in the field.

Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns, vol. 2 by Thomas Riggs (Editor)
Publication date: 2007
Profiles 500 of the most notable marketing and advertising campaigns of the past 100 years. These campaigns cover the marketing of all types of products and services, each in two to five pages, with referral to other sources for further study.
Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications by Donald H. Johnston (Editor)
Publication date: 2003
Explores the ways that editorial content--from journalism and scholarship to films and infomercials--is developed, presented, stored, analyzed, and regulated around the world.
Concise Encyclopedia of Advertising by Kenneth E. Clow; Donald Baack; David L. Loudon; Robert E. Stevens
Location: Second Floor Stacks | Call Number: HF5803 .C59 2005
Comprehensive yet to-the-point compilation of terms and concepts used in the advertising industry. It provides brief, easy-to-understand definitions and explanations of common advertising terms and covers all major concepts used in the industry.
Wiley International Encyclopedia of Marketing by Naresh Malhotra (Editor-In-Chief); Jagdish N. Sheth (Editor-In-Chief)
Publication date: 2010
With over 360 entries from over 500 global experts, this is one of the premier marketing reference resources available worldwide. Contributions include 2 levels of entry: topic summaries of about 600 words and mini-essays of about 3000-5000 words explaining significant topics or debates in the field.

Handbook of Research in International Marketing by Subhash C. Jain (Editor)
Location: Second Floor Stacks | Call Number: HF1416 .S698 2003
Part I offers a review of the state of the art in international marketing and examines market orientation and withdrawal. Parts II through IV cover foreign market entry modes, strategy, and cross cultural issues. Parts V and VI discuss global electronic commerce as well as diffusion models, country equity, and global scorecards.
Handbook of Research on Mobile Marketing Management by Key Pousttchi (Editor); Dietmar G. Wiedemann (Editor)
Publication date: 2009
Provides a compelling and relevant collection of innovative mobile marketing thoughts and practices by international experts on leading edge technologies of marketing applications.
Handbook of Qualitative Research Methods in Marketing by Russell W. Belk (Editor)
Location: Second Floor Stacks | Call Number: HF5415.2 .H288 2006
This handbook begins with a history of qualitative methods in marketing and continues with detailed discussions of current thought and practice including but not limited to research paradigms (grounded theory and semiotics); research contexts (advertising and brands); data collection methods (projectives and netnography); data analysis methods (metaphoric and visual analyses); presentation topics (videography and reflexivity).
The Sales Success Handbook by Linda Richardson
Publication date: 2003
A six-step program for hearing and understanding customers' needs, and then selling solutions instead of products.
Supply Chain Basics: The Dynamics of Change in The U.S. Food Marketing Environment by Debra Tropp; Edward Ragland; James Barham

Ask a Librarian

Need research assistance? One-on-one help is available via the Library’s Virtual Reference Room in Blackboard or phone (325-486-6534) during the following hours:

Monday-Thursday: 9 a.m. – 7 p.m.
Friday: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Saturday: 2 – 6 p.m.
Sunday: 1 – 5 p.m.

You can also contact us via

email or by posting on the Ask a Librarian Discussion Board in Blackboard.
Messages sent outside of normal service hours will be answered the next day the library is open (check Library Hours of Operation for current schedule).