Research Guides: Climate Research: Websites & Data Sources

Websites

Center for Climate and Energy Solutions (C2ES)
Find information on policy, technology, science, and business as they relate to climate change and its impacts.
cli-MATE (Purdue University)
Use cli-MATE to look up such information as raw climate data, rankings of climate information, thresholds, growing season tools, maps, graphs, and much, much more. (Requires free account registration)
Climate Prediction Center (National Weather Service)
Includes, short and long range interactive outlooks, U.S. Drought Information, 8-14 Day U.S. Hazards Outlook, and Global Tropics Hazards Outlook.
Climate Strategies
Provides world-class, independent policy and economic research input to European and international climate policy.
Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC)
Leading international body for the assessment of climate change
IPCC Report on Climate Change and Land
An Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) special report on climate change, desertification, land degradation, sustainable land management, food security, and greenhouse gas fluxes in terrestrial ecosystems.
National Integrated Drought Information System (NDIS)
NIDIS is a multi-agency partnership that coordinates drought monitoring, forecasting, planning, and information at national, state, and local levels across the country.
RealClimate
A commentary site on climate science by working climate scientists for the interested public and journalists.
Today in Energy (website)
Short articles from the U.S. Energy Information Administration with expert explanations.
U.S. Global Change Research Program
Read the federal government's reports aimed at collecting scientific information on climate change for decision-making in the near future.
more...less...
Thirteen departments and agencies participate in the USGCRP, which was known as the U.S. Climate Change Science Program from 2002 through 2008. The program is steered by the Subcommittee on Global Change Research under the Committee on Environment, Natural Resources and Sustainability, overseen by the Executive Office of the President, and facilitated by a National Coordination Office.
United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change
Find conference documents, background information, the Kyoto Protocol, and national reports.
Weather Prediction Center
Includes Quantitative Precipitation Forecasts, Winter Weather Forecasts, Short Term Forecasts, Tropical Cyclone Forecasts, and more.
National Data Buoy Center (NOAA)
Includes an Interactive Map, Station List, and Station ID Search.
Gulf Coast Hurricane Preparedness (National Weather Service)
This preparedness guide is an excellent resource to learn about threats associated with tropical storms and hurricanes. It includes information on planning and preparation.

United States Global Change Research Program

The United States Global Change Research Program (USGCRP) works to "build a knowledge base that informs human responses to climate and global change through coordinated and integrated federal programs of research, education, communication, and decision support." Congress mandated the program as part of the Global Change Research Act of 1990 (P.L. 101-606), and it now involves 13 federal agencies. The following are some of these agencies' websites on climate change.

Climate and Health Program (CDC - Centers for Disease Control and Prevention)
Climate Change (Environmental Protection Agency)
more...less...
May 1, 2017: this site is being updated. It provides a link to the archived web site and other ways to help find information.
Climate Change (National Science Foundation)
Climate Change (US Dept. of Agriculture)
Climate Change (US Dept. of the Interior)
more...less...
May 1, 2017: the link to this website is currently inactive.
Climate.gov (National Oceanic and Atmospheric Services)
Environment & Global Climate Change (USAID - Agency for International Development)
Office of Global Change (US Dept. of State)
Global Climate Change: Vital Signs of the Planet (NASA)
Transportation and Climate Change Clearinghouse (US Dept. of Transportation)
more...less...
May 1, 2017: this link is currently not working.

Data Sources

Atmospheric Radiation Measurement (ARM)-Data
Serving users worldwide, the ARM Data Center includes routine data products, value-added products, field campaign data, complementary external data products and data contributed by ARM principal investigators for use by the scientific community.
Climate Change Knowledge Portal (World Bank)
Provides a wealth of interactive data related to climate change. Find historical rainfall and temperature data and projections for the future.
EIA - Energy Emissions Data & Environmental Analysis of Energy Data
Energy-related emissions data and environmental analysis, voluntary reporting of greenhouse gas emissions, annual forecasts.
GlobalChange.gov
Gateway to global change data and information from a host of federal agencies
Climate Data Online (CDO)
Provides free access to the National Climatic Data Center's archive of global historical weather and climate data in addition to station history information.
OneStop (NOAA)
A NOAA Data Search Platform. Geophysical, oceans, coastal, weather and climate data discovery all in one place.

Ask a Librarian

Need research assistance? One-on-one help is available via the Library’s Virtual Reference Room in Blackboard or phone (325-486-6534) during the following hours:

Monday-Thursday: 9 a.m. – 7 p.m.
Friday: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Saturday: 2 – 6 p.m.
Sunday: 1 – 5 p.m.

You can also contact us via

email or by posting on the Ask a Librarian Discussion Board in Blackboard.
Messages sent outside of normal service hours will be answered the next day the library is open (check Library Hours of Operation for current schedule).