Research Guides: Kinesiology: Career Resources

Kinesiology Majors

A kinesiology degree prepares students for a career in health and fitness, including coaching, or for various health professions graduate schools.

Common careers include: Athletic Trainers, Athletics Administrators, Biomechanics Specialists, Coaches and Scouts, Fitness and Recreation Directors, Personal Trainers, Sports Management and Marketing Specialists.

For more information about Angelo State University's degree in Kinesiology, visit the Department website.

ASU's Career Development website provides detailed information about Athletics and Sports Major Careers or Sport Management Major Careers.

Kinesiology Major Careers

From the U.S. Bureau of Labor's Occupational Outlook Handbook online, find out about required education, training, credentials, job duties, work environment, salary range, job outlook, and more for each of the exercise science-related careers listed below:

From O*Net OnLine, find detailed information about exercise science-related careers, from detailed job tasks to required education, training, and skills.

Career Resources

Career Guide to Industries
Provides information on available careers by industry, including the nature of the industry, working conditions, employment, occupations in the industry, training and advancement, earnings and benefits, employment outlook. 2010-2011 edition
Career OneStop
From the U.S. Department of Labor, provides a wide variety of information and tools.
Career Outlook
Provides data and information on a variety of topics—including occupations and industries, pay and benefits, and more. These articles are helpful for students, career counselors, jobseekers, and others planning careers.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Excellent resource for researching careers. Includes information about required education and training, job duties, work environment, salary, job outlook, similar occupations, and more.
Texas Workforce Commission
Contains great information for for career exploration, job seekers,and students.
Texas Workforce Commission - Career Exploration and Trends
Broken out of the Texas Workforce Commission site above, tools allow you to explore careers, compare careers and expenses, and match skills with careers.

Career Center Plus™ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Combines everything you need for a successful job search into one easy-to-use online application. First-time users are required to create a personal account.
LearningExpress Library™ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
eLearning solution that provides support to students and professionals for academic skill-building, standardized test prep, career certification test prep and more.
O*Net OnLine This link opens in a new window
Provides broad access to information on skills, abilities, knowledges, work activities, and interests associated with almost 1,000 occupations covering the entire U.S. economy. Job seekers can use the available key features to find out which jobs fit with their interests, skills, and experience; explore growth career profiles using the latest available labor market data; maximize earning potential and job satisfaction.
Vocational & Career Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text coverage for trade and industry-related periodicals designed to meet a wide variety of vocational and technical research needs.

Professional Organizations

American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM)
Advances and integrates scientific research to provide educational and practical applications of exercise science and sports medicine.
American Kinesiology Association (AKA)
AKA promotes and enhances kinesiology as a unified field of study and advances its many applications by providing resource materials and leadership and educational opportunities for university administrators in kinesiology.
Association for Applied Sport Psychology
Resources for athletes, coaches and parents to help facilitate optimal performance and enjoyment in sport and exercise
IDEA Health & Fitness Association
Association for Fitness & Wellness Professionals with articles & videos from the industry's top educators
National Academy of Kinesiology (NAK)
Encourages and promotes the study and educational applications of the art and science of human movement and physical activity.
National Association for Knesiology in Higher Education (NAKHE)
Fosters leadership in kinesiology administration and policy related to teaching, scholarship and service in higher education.
National Athletic Trainers' Association (NATA)
Learn about certification, safety, and ethics of Athletic Trainers
National Strength and Conditioning Association (NSCA)
Learn about being strength coach, personal trainers and educator
North American Society for Pediatric Exercise Medicine (NASPEM)
Its mission is to promote exercise science, physical activity and fitness in the health and medical care of children and adolescents.
Shape America - National Association for Sports and Physical Education
Professional development, standards, and teaching tools for those involved in K-12 physical education and physical activity programs.
Texas Association for Health, Physical Education, Recreation, and Dance (TAHPERD)
TAHPERD is committed to the development of knowledge and programs that promote active, healthy lifestyles and enhance skilled, aesthetic motor performance.