Research Guides: Freshman Seminar: American History in Film: Databases

Suggested Keywords

Motion pictures, movies, film, popular culture, American culture, American studies

Databases for Movies, Film, and American Culture

Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database providing full-text access to scholarly journals, newspapers, books, and reports.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Offers full text and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for journals covering communication, mass media, communication theory, and other closely related fields of study.
Film & Television Literature Index (FTLI)
Bibliographic database covering all types of writing on topics for film and television. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Resources include: industry papers, news journalism, and scholarly academic journals.
Humanities International Complete
Provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
MLA International Bibliography
Definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present.

The Dallas Morning News Historical Newspaper (1885-1984)
Search or browse the high-resolution, digital facsimiles of daily issues of The Dallas Morning News published between 1885 and 1985.
Gale OneFile: News
Access major U.S. and international newspapers online to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, or other fields.
Newspaper Source Plus
ncludes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles plus thousands of television and radio news transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
Westlaw
Access a vast collection of U.S. statutes, case law materials, public records and other legal resources, along with current news articles and business information.

America: History and Life with Full Text
Comprehensive database of articles covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present
Humanities Full Text
Provides full text, abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines.
WorldCat
Global catalog that indexes collections from 72,000 participating libraries in 170 countries.

Quick Help

If your instructor has asked you to watch library videos and take quizzes, you need to do that through the Information Literacy course, listed under "My Courses" in Blackboard

Using Keywords & Synonyms

Ask a Librarian

Need research assistance? One-on-one help is available via the Library’s Virtual Reference Room in Blackboard or phone (325-486-6534) during the following hours:

Monday-Thursday: 9 a.m. – 7 p.m.
Friday: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Saturday: 2 – 6 p.m.
Sunday: 1 – 5 p.m.

You can also contact us via

email or by posting on the Ask a Librarian Discussion Board in Blackboard.
Messages sent outside of normal service hours will be answered the next day the library is open (check Library Hours of Operation for current schedule).