Research Guides: Freshman Seminar: Sports and American Culture: Databases

Suggested Keywords

Sports, sporting, sport, athletes, athletics, fans, spectators, football, basketball, baseball, social, political, cultural, discrimination, steroids, performance enhancing, doping, drugs, gambling, concussion, physical education, exercise, health, fitness, mascots

Databases for Sports & Culture

Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database providing full-text access to scholarly journals, newspapers, books, and reports.
Issues and Controversies
Provides extensive coverage on more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture, with unbiased analysis and rich related resources.

The Dallas Morning News Historical Newspaper (1885-1984)
Search or browse the high-resolution, digital facsimiles of daily issues of The Dallas Morning News published between 1885 and 1985.
Gale OneFile: News
Access major U.S. and international newspapers online to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, or other fields.
Newspaper Source Plus
ncludes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles plus thousands of television and radio news transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.

America: History and Life with Full Text
Comprehensive database of articles covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present
CQ Researcher
In-depth coverage of the most important and controversial issues of the day. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports.
Humanities International Complete
Provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
APA PsycARTICLES
Database of full-text peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Provides access to hundreds of full-text journals covering topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods
WorldCat
Global catalog that indexes collections from 72,000 participating libraries in 170 countries.

Ask a Librarian

Need research assistance? One-on-one help is available via the Library’s Virtual Reference Room in Blackboard or phone (325-486-6534) during the following hours:

Monday-Thursday: 9 a.m. – 7 p.m.
Friday: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Saturday: 2 – 6 p.m.
Sunday: 1 – 5 p.m.

You can also contact us via

email or by posting on the Ask a Librarian Discussion Board in Blackboard.
Messages sent outside of normal service hours will be answered the next day the library is open (check Library Hours of Operation for current schedule).