Research Guides: Art: Career Resources

Career Resources

Career Guide to Industries
Provides information on available careers by industry, including the nature of the industry, working conditions, employment, occupations in the industry, training and advancement, earnings and benefits, employment outlook. 2010-2011 edition
Career OneStop
From the U.S. Department of Labor, provides a wide variety of information and tools.
Career Outlook
Provides data and information on a variety of topics—including occupations and industries, pay and benefits, and more. These articles are helpful for students, career counselors, jobseekers, and others planning careers.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Excellent resource for researching careers. Includes information about required education and training, job duties, work environment, salary, job outlook, similar occupations, and more.
Texas Workforce Commission
Contains great information for for career exploration, job seekers,and students.
Texas Workforce Commission - Career Exploration and Trends
Broken out of the Texas Workforce Commission site above, tools allow you to explore careers, compare careers and expenses, and match skills with careers.

Career Center Plus™ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Combines everything you need for a successful job search into one easy-to-use online application. First-time users are required to create a personal account.
LearningExpress Library™ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
eLearning solution that provides support to students and professionals for academic skill-building, standardized test prep, career certification test prep and more.
O*Net OnLine This link opens in a new window
Provides broad access to information on skills, abilities, knowledges, work activities, and interests associated with almost 1,000 occupations covering the entire U.S. economy. Job seekers can use the available key features to find out which jobs fit with their interests, skills, and experience; explore growth career profiles using the latest available labor market data; maximize earning potential and job satisfaction.
Vocational & Career Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Designed to meet a wide variety of vocational and technical research needs, this database provides full-text coverage for 337 trade and industry related periodicals.

Art Career Project
Authoritative website on art careers, schools, and artistic professional growth.
College Board
A mission-driven not-for-profit organization that connects students to college success and opportunity. Includes career information for ...
- Fine Artists
- Graphic Designers
- Craft Artists
more...less...
Will need a College Board Account
Candid Career
Provides honest career information, and career planning help through video. Filmed without narration or actors. Listen to interviews with ...
- Artists
- Graphic Designers

College Art Association
Principal professional association in the United States for practitioners and scholars of art, art history, and art criticism.
AIGA: The Professional Association for Design
The profession’s oldest and largest professional membership organization for design. Advances design as a professional craft, strategic advantage, and vital cultural force.
more...less...
Organization also manages AIGA Design Archives, a vital record of all disciplines of communication design.
National Association of Independent Artists
Strengthens, improves, and promotes the artistic, professional, and economic success of artists who exhibit in art shows.
American Craft Council
Connects and galvanizes diverse craft communities and traditions to advance craft’s impact in contemporary American life. Keeps craft artists and the community connected, inspired, and thriving.
American Research Center in Egypt
Actively supports scholarship, training and conservation efforts in Egypt through grants, fieldwork, and field schools.
more...less...
Has virtual tours of spaces and artifacts (https://www.arce.org/virtual-tours)