Research Guides: Animal Science: Career Resources

Animal Sciences and Industry

The curriculum for a major in Animal Sciences includes studies in animal behavior, nutrition, genetics, reproduction, physiology, technology, production, marketing, and management.

A degree in Animal Science prepares students for work in several areas of the agriculture industry including:

livestock production
ranch and feedlot management
county extension agents
in the meat and food industry
science and research

For more information about Angelo State University's Undergraduate and Graduate Programs, visit the Department of Agriculture's website.

ASU's Career Development office provides detailed information about Animal Science Major Careers

Career Resources

Career Guide to Industries
Provides information on available careers by industry, including the nature of the industry, working conditions, employment, occupations in the industry, training and advancement, earnings and benefits, employment outlook. 2010-2011 edition
Career OneStop
From the U.S. Department of Labor, provides a wide variety of information and tools.
Career Outlook
Provides data and information on a variety of topics—including occupations and industries, pay and benefits, and more. These articles are helpful for students, career counselors, jobseekers, and others planning careers.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Excellent resource for researching careers. Includes information about required education and training, job duties, work environment, salary, job outlook, similar occupations, and more.
Texas Workforce Commission
Contains great information for for career exploration, job seekers,and students.
Texas Workforce Commission - Career Exploration and Trends
Broken out of the Texas Workforce Commission site above, tools allow you to explore careers, compare careers and expenses, and match skills with careers.

Career Center Plus™ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Combines everything you need for a successful job search into one easy-to-use online application. First-time users are required to create a personal account.
LearningExpress Library™ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
eLearning solution that provides support to students and professionals for academic skill-building, standardized test prep, career certification test prep and more.
O*Net OnLine This link opens in a new window
Provides broad access to information on skills, abilities, knowledges, work activities, and interests associated with almost 1,000 occupations covering the entire U.S. economy. Job seekers can use the available key features to find out which jobs fit with their interests, skills, and experience; explore growth career profiles using the latest available labor market data; maximize earning potential and job satisfaction.
Vocational & Career Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text coverage for trade and industry-related periodicals designed to meet a wide variety of vocational and technical research needs.

Featured Careers for Animal Science Majors

Agricultural and Food Scientists
Information on the work environment, what they do, how to become one, median pay, job outlook, state and area data, similar occupations, and more.
Biochemists and Biophysicists
Information on the work environment, what they do, how to become one, median pay, job outlook, state and area data, similar occupations, and more.
Farmers, Ranchers, and Other Agricultural Managers
Information on the work environment, what they do, how to become one, median pay, job outlook, state and area data, similar occupations, and more.
Veterinarians
Information on the work environment, what they do, how to become one, median pay, job outlook, state and area data, similar occupations, and more.

Careers in STEM

American Association for the Advancement of Science
Find a career opportunity where you can learn, make important contributions, and grow professionally among leaders in science policy, STEM education, science publishing and other exciting fields.
American Institute of Biological Sciences
Biology is at the heart of some of the biggest challenges facing humanity and our planet. From improving human health to tackling climate change, enhancing agriculture to conserving the environment, biologists play an important role.
National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine make a difference every day. Bring your talents to support us in our mission to provide independent, objective advice to the nation and the world.
Ornithology Exchange Job Board
Includes a variety of categories including volunteer, short-term, graduate, postdoctoral, academic, and non-academic positions.
Science Careers
Includes job searches, job alerts, employer search, career advice, and career tools.

Professional Organizations

American Dairy Science Association (ADSA)
The American Dairy Science Association (ADSA) is an international organization of educators, scientists, and industry representatives who are committed to advancing the dairy industry and keenly aware of the vital role the dairy sciences play in fulfilling the economic, nutritive, and health requirements of the world's population. Together, ADSA members have discovered new methods and technologies that have revolutionized the dairy industry.
American Ornithological Society
Its mission is to advance the scientific understanding of birds and disseminate ornithological knowledge.
American Society of Animal Science (ASAS)
The American Society of Animal Science fosters the discovery, sharing and application of scientific knowledge concerning the care and responsible use of animals to enhance animal and human health and well-being.
American Society of Ichthyologists and Herpetologists (ASIH)
Organization devoted to the scientific study of fishes, amphibians, and reptiles.
United States Animal Health Association (USAHA)
A science-based, non-profit, voluntary organization; the USAHA works with state and federal governments, universities, veterinarians, livestock producers, national livestock and poultry organizations, research scientists, the extension service and several foreign countries to control livestock diseases in the United States.