Research Guides: HIST 3301: History of Texas: Books

Reference Books/eBooks

Encyclopedia of the Alamo and the Texas Revolution by Thom Hatch
This comprehensive encyclopedia provides thorough coverage for people, places, events and issues spanning the pre-Revolution period and settlement of Texas by Americans to the forming of the Republic in 1836. When appropriate, a mini-chronology supplements the entry, placing the discussion in context. A day-by-day account details the thirteen day famous siege.
The Encyclopedia of the Mexican-American War
This encyclopedia comprises a wide array of accessible yet detailed entries that address the military, social, political, cultural, and economic aspects of the Mexican-American War. The entries analyze the Mexican-American War from both the American and Mexican perspectives, in equal measure.
Profiles of Texas 2014 by David Garoogian (General Editor)
Provides detailed demographic and statistical data on the state of Texas, including demographics on each county and individual city or town; detailed data on school districts; Hispanic and Asian population statistics; informative statistics and rankings on ancestry groups; weather statistics; and comparative ranking charts.

Books & eBooks

Big Wonderful Thing : A History of Texas by Stephen Harrigan
Blacks in East Texas History by Bruce A. Glasrud (Editor); Archie P. McDonald (Editor)
Location: Second Floor Stacks
Call Number: E185.93.T4 B57 2008
Civil Rights in Black and Brown: Histories of Resistance and Struggle in Texas
Frontier Texas : history of a borderland to 1880 by Robert F. Pace; Donald S. Frazier
Location: Second Floor Stacks
Call Number: F386 .P215 2004
The History of Texas by Robert A. Calvert; Arnoldo De Leon; Gregg Cantrell
2014 edition available in Library Stacks
Location: Second Floor Stacks
Call Number: F386 .C26 2014
The Mexican Texans by Phyllis McKenzie
Also available in Library Stacks:
Location: Second Floor Stacks
Call Number: F395.M5 M38 2004
Oil in Texas : The Gusher Age, 1895-1945 by Diana Davids Hinton; Roger M. Olien
Also available in Library Stacks:
Location: Second Floor Stacks
Call Number: HD9567.T3 O447 2002
Women in Texas History by Angela Boswell
Also available in the Library Stacks:
Location: Second Floor Stacks
Call Number: HQ1438.T4 B69 2018

Finding Primary Sources

Primary sources are original documents that were created at the time of the event by witnesses or people involved in the event.

When searching for primary sources, look for sources that are:

autobiographies
diaries
government documents
letters
newspaper articles (from the time of the event)
oral histories
photographs
speeches

eBooks (Primary Source)

RamCat

Search RamCat for books, journals, DVDs, CDs, videos, maps, government documents, and more.

Other Catalogs

Govinfo.gov This link opens in a new window
Provides free online access to official United States Federal Government publications
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Global catalog that indexes collections from 72,000 participating libraries in 170 countries.

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
The finding tool for electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government.
Google Books
Search the world's most comprehensive index of full-text books.

Ask a Librarian

Need research assistance? One-on-one help is available via the Library’s Virtual Reference Room in Blackboard or phone (325-486-6534) during the following hours:

Monday-Thursday: 9 a.m. – 7 p.m.
Friday: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Saturday: 2 – 6 p.m.
Sunday: 1 – 5 p.m.

You can also contact us via

email or by posting on the Ask a Librarian Discussion Board in Blackboard.
Messages sent outside of normal service hours will be answered the next day the library is open (check Library Hours of Operation for current schedule).

HIST 3301: History of Texas

Suggested Keywords

Browse the Library Shelves