Women's History

Find primary sources on the topic of Women's History Month.

Library of Congress digital collection consisting of a variety of materials including newspapers, books, pamphlets, memorials, scrapbooks, and proceedings from the meetings of various women's organizations that document the suffrage fight.

Library of Congress digital collection of records reflecting NAWSA's multifaceted history, including the activities of precursor organizations involved in the abolition and women's rights movements, state and federal campaigns for women's suffrage, the ratification of the Nineteenth Amendment of the U.S. Constitution, and international women's suffrage organizing.

Library of Congress digital collection including over 200 pieces of sheet music representing suffragist voices, anti-suffrage views, and general societal angst at play throughout the women's suffrage movement.

Library of Congress digital collection of 448 photographs documenting the National Woman's Party's push for ratification of the 19th Amendment as well as its later efforts for passage of the Equal Rights Amendment.

Library of Congress digital collection of the papers of lecturer, reformer, actress, and author Anna Elizabeth Dickinson. Materials include family correspondence, general correspondence, speeches and writings, a legal file, financial papers, newspaper clippings, scrapbooks, and research notes of Dickinson's biographer, Giraud Chester.

Library of Congress digital collection of suffragist, political strategist, and pacifist Carrie Chapman Catt, reflecting her steadfast dedication to two major ideals--the rights of women, particularly the right to vote, and world peace.

Library of Congress digital collection of the papers of nurse, educator, philanthropist, and lecturer Clara Barton relating primarily to her work providing relief services during the American Civil War and the Franco-Prussian War in Europe, her founding in 1881 and subsequent leadership of the American National Red Cross, and her establishment in 1905 of the National First Aid Association of America.

Library of Congress digital collection of the papers of suffragist, reformer, and feminist theorist Elizabeth Cady Stanton. Documented are her efforts on behalf of women's legal status and women's suffrage, the abolition of slavery, rights for African Americans following the Civil War, temperance, and other nineteenth-century social reform movements.

Library of Congress digital collection of the papers of educator, lecturer, suffragist, and civil rights activist Mary Church Terrell primarily focusing on her career as an advocate of women's rights and equal treatment of African Americans.

Library of Congress digital collection of the papers of reformer and suffragist Susan B. Anthony, relating her interests in abolition and women's education, her campaign for women's property rights and suffrage in New York, and her work with the National Woman Suffrage Association.