Biodiversity database that provides scientific names, geographic distribution, and images for many species - collaborative effort of natural history museums, botanical gardens, and research institutions.
International network and data infrastructure funded by the world's governments and aimed at providing anyone, anywhere, open access to data about all types of life on Earth.
Established in 1964, The International Union for Conservation of Nature’s Red List of Threatened Species has evolved to become the world’s most comprehensive information source on the global conservation status of animal, fungi and plant species. It provides information about range, population size, habitat and ecology, use and/or trade, threats, and conservation actions that will help inform necessary conservation decisions.
Scientific archive preserving audio, video, and photographic recordings of animal species’ behavior and natural history. The collection includes birds, amphibians, fishes, and mammals.
Set of rules for the naming of animals and the resolution of nomenclatural problems. Published by the International Commission on Zoological Nomenclature.
Acts as adviser and arbiter for the zoological community by generating and disseminating information on the correct use of the scientific names of animals.
A collaboration bringing together the effort and contributions of taxonomists and informaticians from around the world. COL aims to address the needs of researchers, policy-makers, environmental managers and the wider public for a consistent and up-to-date listing of all the world’s known species.
Allows users to explore the DNA barcode database across the full taxonomic tree. It provides detailed summary statistics and images for major eukaryotic groups, including Plants, Fungi, and Protists. Users can navigate through taxonomic ranks, from phylum to species, accessing distribution, occurrence data, attribution data, and specimen images.
A curated classification and nomenclature for all of the organisms in the public sequence databases. This currently represents about 10% of the described species of life on the planet.
Provides an authoritative online, open-access, community-generated registry for zoological nomenclature. It is also the Official Register of the International Commission on Zoological Nomenclature.
Extensive database containing over 17 million records about 10,000 species and 22,000 subspecies of birds, including distribution information, taxonomy, synonyms in several languages and more.
Provides decision-makers and conservation practitioners state-of-the-art data, knowledge and tools to conserve birds, their habitats, and global biodiversity.
Maintained by The Ornithological Council, this is an online repository of information about the science of ornithology, and about issues of interest to ornithologists.
Provides rich data sources documenting bird distribution, abundance, habitat use, and trends through checklist data collected within a simple, scientific framework.
The world's first and largest open access ornithological publications archive provides access to an extensive library of ornithological literature of international scope, and detailed material documenting the history of ornithology in North America over the last 120 years.
Worldwide bird photograph collection of the Academy of Natural Sciences of Drexel University, is a taxonomically curated collection of over 200,000 remarkable, scientific and historical images.
Provides an authoritative reference for taxonomic fish names for over 37,000 species, including 18,990 valid fish species with the tag ‘Habitat: freshwater’. Hosted by the Institute for Biodiversity Science and Sustainability, California Academy of Sciences.
Houses and maintains the world's largest collection of North American, Neotropical, Caribbean, and West Pacific fish fauna, over 6 million specimens. The online Fish Collection database lists slightly over 50% of the division's holdings and includes all relevant information for each cataloged lot of specimens.
Research resource and teaching center dedicated to the study of fish evolution, phylogeny, distribution, ecology, and behavior. Approximately 3.5 million catalogued specimens available for study. The collections are rich in specimens from the U.S., Mexico, Asia, Japan, the Neotropics, and Africa.
Global biodiversity information system on finfishes. Provides a wide range of information on all species of finfishes currently known in the world: taxonomy, biology, trophic ecology, life history, and uses, as well as historical data reaching back to 250 years.
This guide aids researchers and regulatory authorities regarding responsible, scientifically valid research on fish and aquatic wildlife. Links to the free, downloadable Word Doc and PDF versions of the latest edition (2014) are available.
Responsible for the stewardship of the nation's ocean resources and their habitat. This agency provides productive and sustainable fisheries, safe sources of seafood, the recovery and conservation of protected resources, and healthy ecosystems.
The Division of Amphibians and Reptiles, National Museum of Natural History, Smithsonian Institution, houses and maintains among the largest and most important herpetological collections in the world, with over 580,000 specimens. The database holds approximately 13,400 type records; over 2,470 of these are primary (name bearing) types.
Catalog of all living reptile species and their classification. The database focuses on taxonomic data, i.e. names and synonyms, distribution and type data and literature references.
Educational and informational resource on breeds of livestock throughout the world. Presented by the Department of Animal & Food Sciences at Oklahoma State University.
Completely revised and updated version of William B. Davis's classic text, the book contains information on the distribution, physical characteristics and life histories of the 181 species of Texas mammals.
Online database of mammalian taxonomy to be used as a convenient on-line reference for identifying or verifying recognized scientific names and for taxonomic research.
Searchable database of verified butterfly and moth records for the continent of North America from Panama to Canada. This site includes dynamic distribution maps, photographs, species accounts, and regional species checklists – including checklists for each county in the United States.
Online access to a small portion of the over 50 million specimens available for scientific research at the Department of Invertebrate Zoology, National Museum of Natural History, Smithsonian Institute, Washington D.C.
The museum's invertebrate holdings are worldwide in coverage, especially Afrotropical and Neotropical regions. Most specimens in the collection are in the Phylum Arthropoda, with greatest emphasis on insects, myriapods, arachnids, and crustacea.
Houses some of the most extensive and historically important metazoan and protozoan collections available to researchers today. The collections contain terrestrial and aquatic specimens from diverse geographical regions of the world. The collection can be searched online via three different portals.
Organization dedicated to the scientific study of fishes, amphibians, and reptiles, with an emphasis to increase knowledge about these organisms, to disseminate that knowledge through publications, conferences, symposia, and other means, and to encourage and support young scientists who will make future advances in these fields.
Professional organization dedicated to the study and conservation of mammals. Established in 1919, promotes research, supports students and early-career researchers, facilitates collaboration, and advocates for mammal conservation.
A diverse group of about 700 scientists from academia, industry, and government involved in the study and teaching of the scientific discipline of parasitology. Society members contribute to the development of parasitology as a discipline, as well as to primary research in behavior, biochemistry, ecology, immunology, medicine, molecular biology, physiology, systematics, and other related fields of science.
Non-partisan, non-profit professional organization dedicated to promoting and advancing the scientific study of animal behavior. Members of ABS study behavior across all levels of biological organization, under natural and controlled conditions, and using descriptive and experimental approaches.
Non-profit, non-partisan organization founded in 2004 to promote zoology by improving communication, increasing resource availability for research, and fostering collaboration among zoological organizations and scientists globally.
Non-profit, membership-based, accrediting organization dedicated to responsible wildlife management, conservation, and education.
Ask a Librarian
Need research assistance? One-on-one help is available via the Library’s Virtual Reference Room in Blackboard or phone (325-486-6534) during the following hours:
Monday-Thursday: 9 a.m. – 7 p.m.
Friday: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Saturday: 2 – 6 p.m.
Sunday: 1 – 5 p.m.
You can also contact us via email or by posting on the Ask a Librarian Discussion Board in Blackboard. Messages sent outside of normal service hours will be answered the next day the library is open (check Library Hours of Operation for current schedule).
phone (325-486-6534) during the following hours:
email or by posting on the Ask a Librarian Discussion Board in Blackboard.