Research Guides: Aerospace Studies (ROTC): Reference

Reference Databases

Credo Reference
Provides access to hundreds of reference resources covering every major subject.
Gale eBooks
Contains topic overview pages, subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other reference resources.

Reference Books/eBooks

Women and the Military: An Encyclopedia by Victoria Sherrow
Location: Second Floor Stacks | Call Number: U21.75 .S54 1996
A reference on the history of women and the military, with some 400 entries on all aspects of the combatant, noncombatant, and support roles women have played in the US military since the Revolutionary War. Entries encompass concepts, historical figures, events, legislation, specific service branches, armed conflicts, and popular culture.

Jane's Aerospace Dictionary by Bill Gunston
Location: Second Floor Stacks | Call Number: TL509 .G8 1980
Contains over fifteen thousand entries, including words from several related disciplines, acronyms, voice telecommunications codes, basic equations, materials, fuels, specifications, and military terminology.
Dictionary of American Naval Aviation Squadrons by Naval Historical Center of the U.S. Department of the Navy's Naval History & Heritage Commandy)
Publication date: 2024
Volume 1 covers the history of attack and strike fighter squadrons, Volume 2 covers the history of patrol squadrons.
The Oxford Companion to American Military History by John Whiteclay Chambers (Editor)
Publication date: 2000
Ranging from brief factual pieces to extensive essays, the entries examine every major war from the Revolution to the Persian Gulf; important battles from Bunker Hill, to the Alamo, Gettysburg, Little Bighorn, Normandy, and Khe Sanh; and military leaders from Washington to Grant, Lee, Eisenhower, MacArthur, Westmoreland, and Schwarzkopf.

Contrails: The Air Force Cadet Handbook by United States Air Force Academy
Publication date: 2000
Small handbook issued to new cadets entering the United States Air Force Academy. It contains information on United States Air Force and United States military history; Academy history; notable Academy graduates; aircraft, satellites, and munitions in the current U.S. Air Force inventory; transcripts of important national documents; and famous quotes, which are usually patriotic or leadership-related.

Ask a Librarian

Need research assistance? One-on-one help is available via the Library’s Virtual Reference Room in Blackboard or phone (325-486-6534) during the following hours:

Monday-Thursday: 9 a.m. – 7 p.m.
Friday: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Saturday: 2 – 6 p.m.
Sunday: 1 – 5 p.m.

You can also contact us via

email or by posting on the Ask a Librarian Discussion Board in Blackboard.
Messages sent outside of normal service hours will be answered the next day the library is open (check Library Hours of Operation for current schedule).